Lahmahjoon (Armenian Pizza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
It actually tasted like the chimichanga meat, which I was a little disappointed in. I had expected something different...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
We found these to be a little bland. I didn't have the opportunity to let the meat mixture sit overnight, and was not able to use lamb, perhaps this played a roll in the blandness of it?? We also found that the pita got too crispy at 450 for 20 minutes. Next time I will play with the seasoning, let it sit over night and cook it at a lower temperature for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Love this recipe, I've made it several times now. As other reviewers said, 20 minutes might be way too long depending on the bread you use, so keep an eye on it as you cook it. The recipe says to stack them together (like a sandwich), then cut them in wedges, and in the pictures you'll them open face. I've eaten them both ways, and really prefer them open faced--- less messy and a better balance of flavors. I otherwise cook it as described, adding some salt and pepper to the fresh lamb. I'd recommend topping this with some plain greek yogurt and/or a squeeze of fresh lemon. I also eat this along side the "Armenian Lentils" from this site. And don't skip the "sit over night" part of the recipe--- it makes a big difference. I also agree that the dish would be just as good with ground beef or turkey in place of the lamb. You really don't taste much lamb flavor with all the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I liked this alot. I would add a full tsp of cumin the next time I make it. I used ground beef instead of lamb for cost purposes. Would love to give this a try with lamb, i think it would be delicious. It's a nice quick weeknight meal if you round this out with a salad. Leftovers taste justa as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was good, but we didn't find these to be extraordinary. We have never tasted this elsewhere so we had no idea what to expect ( other than having an idea from reading the recipe). It really didn't taste of lamb. It could have been any meat really. Nice but, nothing wow about this recipe for us. I am glad to have tried these so thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is very good. It kind of reminds me of Sloppy Joe meat on a pita lol. I added a little more salt and put some mozerella on top! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Lord have mercy, this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe. If I don't have ground lamb I substitute ground beef. Serve with yogurt mixed with tomatoes, cucumber, cilantro & scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe is realy fabulous with the additions I've made which gives it, I believe a more authentic flavor. Used more chopped peppers (red and green), cause I had them & needed to use them up. Instead of the parsley, used 1 full bunch of cilantro finely chopped. Added more cumin (3/4-1 tablespoon), 2 tablespoons of mint. 1 lb pizza dough, cut in 4 equal pieces (used more dough, cause makes more then 4 Lahmahjoon). Sauted the onions with peppers until golden, then added the garlic (oh yeah, 1-2 T). Once vegies were cooked to release their flavor, added the pre-cooked ground lamb. Please add salt and pepper to taste, without it, it will be blah. brush olive oil lightly over the doug. Spread the meat thinly over each pizza. Once baked, sprinkle some lemon juice over the top. Yummy in our tummies is what my family experienced. My husband is Armenian and he couldn't stop eating it & remarked on how close it is to an Armenian store which we've bought these from located in Watertown, MA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States