Lahmacun Turkish Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Really awesome recipe! Tasted like it was supposed to. My pizzas were very crispy but my husband said he actually liked it better that way. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very good, although I have made something very similar before and I think I preferred that recipe. It is a bit time consuming, but I'm sure it could be easily cut down in steps if you aren't worried about authenticity--for instance, it would be pretty simple to sub purchased pita bread for the bread and other sauces could be used. The dough is somewhat dry, so it could probably stand an extra tablespoon or so of water, but it was definitely workable as is. I wasn't really a fan of eating this as a sandwich--at least as a fresh made pizza, it's rather difficult to fold it up. I think I prefer it as a personal pizza and I think I'd prefer to leave off the cabbage, but I'm not a cabbage fan. Otherwise, this is pretty good. I love mint with meat and tomato sauces. Hubs wasn't as convinced but he was okay with it. I don't actually think this is a light meal--I'm stuffed after eating one for lunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
If this had taken less time I would have given it 4 stars, but in the end, it just wasn't worth it to me. The main complication with this recipe is that, if you have a large family, you are stuck cooking the entire time while they are eating (because, at least in my oven, I could only bake 2 at a time), and are left by yourself to eat - after all those hours that you spent preparing this! The bread was delicious, and the meat filling was good. My kids all loved it, even the garlic yogurt sauce; my husband and I thought it was better than ok, but not excellent. Just my two cents! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! We didn't change a thing! The dough is awesome - just make sure you roll it out really thin! The Turkish we know used to spread out the sauce and meat separate... i might do it that way next time! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Rescue, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
As one who grew up in Istanbul and lived there for 14 years, I must say that this is an excellent recipe. Two extraneous comments on the recipe: 1) Be wary of how much tomato / tomato paste is used in the recipe as the tomato can easily overwhelm some of the more delicate tastes in sauce. 2) The garlic sauce and cabbage is more of a European addition to the lahmacun (a similar addition is made to Western European renditions of the Doner Kebap). In my experience, lahmacuns are best served with white onions (topped with sumac) and fresh parsley as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Simply fantastic! Made it for Iftar (meal to break the fast in Ramadan), and my entire family loved it (from the 6-year-old to my picky husband). Leftovers also delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Excellent dish! The only down side is the large amount time it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
i made it for my husband, who was stationed in Turkey and he loved it, thank you for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Just think of this as the middle eastern version of (American) Indian tacos...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Sounds fabulous, Lysis - thanks for sharing! I had the pleasure of going to Antalya, Turkey for a conference almost 2 years ago, and after the conference, we did a tour throughout a large portion of this beautiful country! Our tour group had something similar to this at a lakeside cafe, and I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to recreate it at home! Thank you, thank you!! I'm rating it 5 stars, because now I know where I went wrong on my first attempt - I didn't add enough mint! My only recommendation would be to add more fresh parsley to the garlic sauce! (And more garlic, but that's just me, I love garlic!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States