Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
mine came out fine...lik most other posters I wanted to make Tiramisu and there were no Ladyfingers to be found at 2 grocery stores. I also did not pipe them...I considered makeing them in a pan and cutting them as some other posters did since they didn't have to look pretty to go into the tiramisu....but ended up using a molded cake pan. I have no idea what that pan is called...but it pretty much is "ladyfinger" shaped little molds in an aluminum pan. Sprayed em with Pam, baked and they popped right out looking like proper little storebought ladyfingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I found the recipe really easy and my daughter even helped me with it, she's 2. I didn't pipe it and instead made it in a bar cookie, still turned out terrific and my daughter loves them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Super easy! I followed other reviewers suggestions and chilled the mixture before piping it & again in between batches & they turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I used these ladyfingers for the Tiramisu II recipe from this site and it was very good! They did have an eggy smell after coming out of the oven, but they didn't taste like that. In fact, they didn't have much flavour at all, but that didn't matter to me since I was soaking them in coffee anyway. It was their soft, fluffy texture that I loved. I also followed Liz McCleoud's suggestion of filling a whole jelly roll pan and then slicing the ladyfingers into strips after they've baked instead of piping- much easier. Thanks for the tip, Liz, and a big thanks to Roxanne for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesskrystal4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Would make these again. Overall, they were very good. I was able to get them to set up nicely when I put them out on the cooking sheet. They rose beautifully, unfortunately after I took them out of the oven, they quickly fell. It made them a bit chewy but once I prepped them with the coffee for the tiramisu, they were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penn Yan, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was a great recipe, because it turned out light and fluffy. This isn't the hard crispy type of lady fingers but more of the sponge-like type making it very useful for tiramisu. It did not taste eggy at all which is a very good thing, considering there's no flavoring added whatsoever:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Easy and good recipe, my tiramisu was great =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShuiMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made these when I needed lady fingers for a dessert recipe, and the grocery store informed me they only carry the premade kind later in the summer. Having never made them before, I was pleased how easy these are. And how well they turned out! Follow ELPARSONS' advice: don't overwhip the eggs. Makes for a nice, delicate lady finger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I wanted to make a tiramisu for a special dinner I'm hosting for some girlfriends, but couldn't find ladyfingers anywhere. I was a little intimidated about the thought of making them myself, but these were much easier than I expected. Simple ingredients everyone has on hand, just takes a little time and care to mix the batter. Mine didn't rise very well (it's a hot day here and I chalk it up to the batter not staying cool enough). I piped them using a big Ziplock bag, which worked like a charm. My ladyfingers came out a little flatter than those pictured here, but tasted light and delicious! Will definitely make again, can't wait to see how they turn out in my tiramisu and I know my friends will be impressed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thislittlepiggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These turned out awesome!! I did as another reviewer suggested by spreading the batter on the pan then cutting into strips after they cool. They got covered up anyway and no one could tell. What a huge time saver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Sprunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States