Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
instead of pipping them out i baked it like a cake. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I needed ladyfingers for 60 individual servings of tiramisu for a church youth group fundraiser. Store-bought ladyfingers are SO expensive, so I gave this recipe a try. The flavor of these is phenomenal and the texture is light and spongy, just like ladyfingers should be. The only problem I had with the recipe was that mine barely puffed up at all and they spread quite a bit. Since I had piped them into circles just a bit smaller than I needed for them to fit in the parfait cups I was using, the spreading caused a bit of an issue with the cakes fitting into the cups. I was able to squish them down in and the presentation still looked nice, but it made the assembly of the desserts take a bit longer than planned. I'd like to try this recipe again, perhaps increasing the baking powder a bit and also chilling the batter before piping it onto the baking sheet. The only other issue I had was that the cakes stuck badly to my Silpat mats, so next time I'll definitely use parchment paper instead like the directions say to do. I used these with the custard/mascarpone mixture from Tiramisu II here at AllRecipes (using Mascarpone Substitute instead of real mascarpone to save even more money).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I wanted to make Marty Fries' Triamisu Cheesecake from this site and every time I go to the store they have lady fingers...EXCEPT this time. Just made them, today, and if I'd known how simple they were to make I wouldn't have stressed over not finding store bought ones. I whipped my egg whites in my kitchenaid and beat the egg yolk mixture by hand. Super simple and they didn't spread very much but puffed beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakinMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Wow! This was simple and they came out perfect for use with my Tiramisu recipe. Next time, I'll try some minor alterations as others suggested (adding vanilla or cocoa powder). I snipped the corner of a 1 gallon ziplock storage bag and used that instead of a pastry bag - it worked great! Let cool before removing from the parchment paper (I don't bake much...) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
i use this all the time to make tiramisu, after i followed a tip from another reviewer to spend more time with the mixer on the egg yolks they turned out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
These came out looking wonderful and i sprinkled with sugar as well. However, they are a little too eggy for me. Perhaps that is what homemade lady fingers are supposed to taste like. Have only had the kind from the store--prepackaged. I will try again though and use a little vanilla as i read someone else did. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I used half whole wheat flour and they still came out great. Only baked for 6 mins in my oven. My oven would only hold one pan at a time, so I kept the batter in the fridge between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I want to eat these like popcorn but I better save them for the tiramisu I am soon to make ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
These were so good and so easy to make. I scaled the recipe down to make 12 cookies, which I used to line a tiramisu cheesecake. The cookies had a nice crisp and golden crust and were tender inside. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These are awesome. I converted them to gluten free using an almond blend gluten free flour. They are spongey and perfect for tiramisu. Hubby had some with his coffee and he gave me the two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States