Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mamabaker
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Pretty good. As another reviewer noted, i added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (i noticed most lady finger recipes call for vanilla). I baked for 7 minutes. And i did not have a problem with the batter running as some did. Maybe their egg whites weren't stiff and folded in. I also used a ziploc bag to pipe the batter and it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I added a dash of baking powder and vanilla, as recommended by other reviewers, and I'm glad I did; they really need it. I used whole wheat pastry flour, and chilled the batter while the oven heated and I prepared the pans. I got 28 large cookies, which took about 9 minutes to bake. I can't understand why one reviewer's batter leaked out of the bag, unless she didn't whip the egg whites enough. They need to be stiff but not dry, and fold in the yolk mixture and flour ever so gently! Chilling for 15 minutes seemed to firm up the batter and make them hold their shape in the oven - they didn't run much at all. After removing them from the parchment to a rack, I put the rack back in the mostly cooled oven and let them really dry and crisp up, because I'm planning tiramisu. Thanks, Roxanne, for a simple easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I was thrilled to find this recipe, but sorely disappointed. The recipe mixed up easily and very nicely, and I didn't notice a problem until I took them out of the oven. They deflated almost immediately and stuck rather badly to the parchment. I followed the recipe to a T, and the taste was fine (though a bit eggy) but the outcome was not at all ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I have been using this recipe exclusively for tiramisu. It has a soft consistency and I am able to increase the yield by adding 6 egg whites (left over from the tiramisu cream)which also allows the pastry to rise a bit more. Instead of creating lady fingers, I create multiple thin cakes to reduce assembly time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Too eggy for us. Prefer a more cake-like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These didn't puff up as much as I thought they would. So for my tiramisu, I decided to leave them whole. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
These are a lot of work for how they turn out. I probably won't make them again. I found out my store keeps them in the freezer in the bakery area and I have to request them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn.Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I've been using this recipe for my tiramisu for the past few months. It is easy and so much cheaper than buying it from the store. One note: I line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and spread the mixture as one huge ladyfinger on each instead of individual ones. I came to the conclusion that you don't see the actual shape of them if you're using them for tiramisu, so why make them small. Once it bakes, I just use a pizza roller to get the size I want. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Since I couldn't find ladyfingers anywhere in the short period of time I had, I made these to use as a layer in a lemon-raspberry cheese cake, so the presentation wasn't important this time...just the taste which was perfect. But I do suggest refrigerating dough if it is a bit runny otherwise they'll come out flat. Due to it being hot, mine started to spread when I piped them on the baking sheet. Use that tip & you should have ladyfingers...feel so much better that I found a easy recipe to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I found this very easy to make. I added 1/2 tsp of Vanilla but that didn't distract from the eggy taste. They came out light and fluffy and where a gold brown all over at 7 mins. I have not used them yet for my first Tiramisu and will update when I do. I have only had a couple of small spoons of tiramisu from my husbands dish at a restaurant and actually did not like it. He has been to Italy and eaten many there and liked the one at the restaurant so I will go by his gauge. I had a lady's finger with my desert and found it very crisp so am not sure if mine should be crisp also. I am disappointed that they did not turn out like the picture with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States