Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
After readings some the other reviews, I thought I'd share a couple of little tips I learned from the pastry chef at Joel's (a five star restaurant in Atlanta) to keep ladyfingers from spreading too much when baking. First make sure you've sifted the flour really well before using. Second, keep an eye on the egg whites and don't over-whip them. Third, GENTLY fold the egg yolks into the whites. Again, don't over whip! Finally, place a cookie cutter on the parchment paper or silpat and pipe the mixture into the cookie cutter until it's about halfway full. Lift the cookie cutter up and move it approximately 1 inch away and repeat. You end up with nice round absorbent ladyfingers that are perfect for tiramisu. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
698 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELPARSONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I too was making tiramisu and couldn't find the prepackaged kind so I gave these a try. I didn't have the patience for piping so I just lined a jelly roll pan with greased waxed paper, spread the batter, baked for eight mins and after cooling, cut them into strips. Everyone who tried my tiramisu said that it was the best yet, thanks to the homemade ladyfingers- very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This recipe didn't work perfectly for me - however, I think it was due to the room temp when i was mixing and piping - little too hot - and the fingers spread out and turned out rather gummy. However, I saved a little batter in the fridge; I piped and baked a few fingers the next day and VOILA! Poofy and cakey, as they should be. So if you notice a first panful goes flat, try cooling the batter and trying again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very good the only thing I would suggest is the importance of a bit of vanilla (1/2 tsp) and extracts like almond or lemon to really kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These cookies were awesome! I found them very easy to make. And I love the fact that they require so few ingredients and such a short baking time. They are very light and airy! I didn't have a problem with them spreading too much, like others did. Although I can say, that they are kind of a thinner cookie, which worked well for my Tiramisu. I'm still not sure about the Tiramisu, but the cookies rocked! I got 38 cookies from this recipe, it may vary for others, as I "piped" them through a plastic bag, and I wasn't very good at getting them all the same size. I did cook them for 7 minutes, instead of 8. I found that the bottoms were nice and brown and the tops were very light. My husband ate like 12 of them with a tall glass of milk before I made my tiramisu! I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
Very nice and light cookies that are excellent for tiramisu. Try Tiramisu III by Kristine. With these ladyfingers make sure you watch the bottoms for burning. They also tend to spread a bit so don't crowd them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Perfect! I wasn't able to find ladyfingers at the grocery store for a last-minute tiramisu, but these were so easy and perfect, I will use this recipe from now on! I use wax paper rolled into a cone, fill with the batter, twist the top closed and snip off the tip- couldn't be easier. I piped onto a baking sheet with a Silpat instead of parchment. Thanks for sharing the recipe~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Possibly the easiest recipe I have found for ladyfingers. They turned out great. I baked mine a little longer on insulated baking sheets, to get a drier cookie for tiramisu. These would be great in a lot of layered desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Perfect and cheap! I had absolutely NO problem with piping them or having them spread too much. If you have that problem, you may not have whipped the eggs whites enough, or folded them in too roughly. Wonderful recipe Roxanne! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Wow! Easy and very good. Like little Angel food cakes. I agree with another reviewer, don't overcrowd. They tend to spread quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States