Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I thought these were wonderful! They turned out perfectly. Instead of piping them onto the sheet, I took a couple other suggestions and dropped them by spoonfuls to make little round ones and they were adorable! Also to add a little extra sweet... before they are cooked, dust with a thin layer of confectioners sugar and they come out with a golden brown gloss on top and there's just a slight flavor added. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This recipe was great! I used it to make mini Nutella "sandwiches" - excellent combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I didnt know what to expect with this recipe, but it turned out pretty good. I didnt really like them plain, but I used them in an Orange Tiramisu Recipe from Bon Appetit Magazine. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made these because I was going to make tiramisu. Instead of piping (dough was too liquidy), I put in a jelly roll pan and baked 1 minute longer. They turned out very nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
i made these and they turned out great! i didn't have a problem with the batter being runny like some users, and i think the trick is to make sure you beat both the egg whites and yolks until very stiff and maybe a touch more flour. They are bland, but thats how ladyfingers are supposed to be. They're great with coffee or in tiramisu though. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Ok, I've read all the reviews before making these.. The taste is yummy! Can't wait to see how they'll behave in my tiramisu.. But they were really hard to handle.. I was hoping that they'll come out like any of the posted pictures, but unfortunately they didn't.. They spreaded in a very funny way (it was so funny for my husband but not me!!).. next time I'll try to increast the amount of flour a little bit in order to have a less runny batter.. Cuz i've tried freezing them for a few minutes but still the mixture was runny.. Whatsoever, i will never buy the 100-ingredients-very-hard-to-find ladyfingers from the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Spongy and light. Turned out very good, despite my first time. I put the batter in the fridge for it to cool down a bit, and simply spread it onto a wax paper lined pan and baked, then cut into strips. Looks very neat, probably better than piping. But quite bland, even though I used a bit of vanilla... for the original recipe, I'll suggest 1 tsp of vanilla. Otherwise, it's a great decoration for cakes! ^-^ UPDATE: I'm considering calling this 'sponge cake' instead of 'ladyfingers' ... that's exactly what the texture is like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
After readings some the other reviews, I thought I'd share a couple of little tips I learned from the pastry chef at Joel's (a five star restaurant in Atlanta) to keep ladyfingers from spreading too much when baking. First make sure you've sifted the flour really well before using. Second, keep an eye on the egg whites and don't over-whip them. Third, GENTLY fold the egg yolks into the whites. Again, don't over whip! Finally, place a cookie cutter on the parchment paper or silpat and pipe the mixture into the cookie cutter until it's about halfway full. Lift the cookie cutter up and move it approximately 1 inch away and repeat. You end up with nice round absorbent ladyfingers that are perfect for tiramisu. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
701 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELPARSONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I have Celiac disease, and recipes are hard to come by. I found that by changing the wheat flour with corn flour, or a rice flour, I got a wonderful, tender cookie that tasted just like the ladyfingers I ate before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I definitely prefer these to storebought ladyfingers. Although if you're going to soak them in espresso for tiramisu or whatever, you can confidently use storebought. These disappeared quickly over fresh coffee :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States