Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I made these for Tiramisu II, and I've never seen a lady finger before, so I was going in blind. I did as others and just spread out onto a cookie sheet on a greased parchment paper. They turned out fabulous!! I baked at 375F for 10 mins and than, pulled them out to cool. Turned off oven & let them cool for 15 mins. I cut them into strips than let them cool for 20 more mins than stuck back in the warm oven. This dried them out a tad more so I could use them in my Tiramisu without them getting too soggy. It turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These came out perfect. it's my second time making ladyfingers from scratch, but these ones are way better. Added a teaspoon of vanilla sugar for more flavor. Used them to make the "English Trifle to Die for" recipe, and got rave reviews :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Photo by apedawn
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I was so glad to find this recipe. Ladyfingers are so difficult to find here. I made these in order to make the "Strawberry Torte" recipe from this site. I made them exactly as written. I did not find them difficult to work with at all. I think it worked out so well b/c I kept the temp. cool so the mixture never got runny. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Instead of sifting the flour and baking powder together and using a complicated process to combine them with the other mixtures, I just stirred them together with a fork before adding it to the egg mixtures and folding it in. It turned out just fine. I halved this recipe and it turned out exactly enough for one tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMichal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I thought these were wonderful! They turned out perfectly. Instead of piping them onto the sheet, I took a couple other suggestions and dropped them by spoonfuls to make little round ones and they were adorable! Also to add a little extra sweet... before they are cooked, dust with a thin layer of confectioners sugar and they come out with a golden brown gloss on top and there's just a slight flavor added. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This recipe was great! I used it to make mini Nutella "sandwiches" - excellent combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I didnt know what to expect with this recipe, but it turned out pretty good. I didnt really like them plain, but I used them in an Orange Tiramisu Recipe from Bon Appetit Magazine. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made these because I was going to make tiramisu. Instead of piping (dough was too liquidy), I put in a jelly roll pan and baked 1 minute longer. They turned out very nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
i made these and they turned out great! i didn't have a problem with the batter being runny like some users, and i think the trick is to make sure you beat both the egg whites and yolks until very stiff and maybe a touch more flour. They are bland, but thats how ladyfingers are supposed to be. They're great with coffee or in tiramisu though. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Ok, I've read all the reviews before making these.. The taste is yummy! Can't wait to see how they'll behave in my tiramisu.. But they were really hard to handle.. I was hoping that they'll come out like any of the posted pictures, but unfortunately they didn't.. They spreaded in a very funny way (it was so funny for my husband but not me!!).. next time I'll try to increast the amount of flour a little bit in order to have a less runny batter.. Cuz i've tried freezing them for a few minutes but still the mixture was runny.. Whatsoever, i will never buy the 100-ingredients-very-hard-to-find ladyfingers from the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States