Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made the chocolate version of these and loved them! I've never had ladyfingers before so I don't know how these compare to store-bought but I can say they made a FANTASTIC tiramisu. They had a nice flavor plain too. I will definately use this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Perfect! I added a tsp. of vanilla and used a gluten-free flour mix, since these were for a gluten-and-dairy-free tiramisu. They baked up light and spongy, exactly as I'd hoped. The only difficulty I had was that the warmer the batter got, the flatter the cookies became, so it definitely pays to keep the batter cool. Also, these only took 6 minutes, probably due to the gluten-free flour. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I'm sorry to use this this way, but I was wondering if this recipe could be made ahead and frozen or stored some how? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is great...it reminds me just the way I remember ladyfingers are suppose to taste like. I used it for the tiramisu recipe and it worked out really well. Held the coffee well, did get too soggy. Actually, it was great just on its own maybe with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sha2alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've made homemade tiramisu twice now and used this recipe for ladyfingers both times. It is a great basic recipe (just what I like for tiramisu.) It has just a hint of sweetness, and great texture. My recommendations: If using for tiramisu, I like to pipe out half the mixture into individual "fingers" in order to get a little crunchier texture for my bottom layer. (The middle layer I don't mind a little softer, so just baking as one thin layer and cutting strips afterwards works fine for me.) I like to let them finish cooling on a cooling rack in order for them to harden a little more. If left too long on the pan or parchment, they stay too soft for tiramisu and will fall apart a little easier. (It also seems like working fast once you have the egg whites whipped works better. So, have everything ready before you get to beating.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Regina
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I made it twice. First time was kinda of messy. However, it was perfect the second time! I recommand using 1 cup of flour and add a bit of salt. I baked it in a flat pan and cut it into strips as the previous reviewers said. It looked much better at the second time and it make me happier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
these had a VERY strong eggy smell...can't figure out what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Giza, Al-Jizah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Wonderful! As usual I had a hard time finding Ladyfingers in the store so I came here to see what I could find and I found a gem! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe...so easy and MUCH less expensive than buying Lady Fingers in the packages. I used this recipe for the Classic Tiramisu on this site (also wonderful) and made it in a spring form pan. As other reviewers suggested, I just spread the batter out on parchment on a jelly roll pan to bake, and then, instead of cutting into "lady fingers," I used the spring form as a template and cut out 2 circles (actually, the second I ended up piecing together a bit to make the full circle - but it was covered up by the cheese mixture anyway). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
You *cannot* do greased waxed paper, per one of the reviews! Smoke everywhere!! However, those done on parchment were great. Recipe got great reviews from a 100% Italian relative of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States