Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
These were really good and turned out perfect. I think I know what is causing the "spreading" for some of you. My first two batches were put on room-temperature prepared cookie sheets and baked for 8 minutes. Absolutely no spreading. I was careful to refrigerate the rest of the ladyfinger mixture to keep it cool while the first ones baked. BUT, I guess the cookie sheets were too warm when I put the 2nd batches on them and there was some spreading. So I believe the temperature of the baking sheets - not necessarily the ladyfinger mixture - is an important factor to minimize spreading. The spreading did not change the flavor and I used these for the center part of my trifle. I have never made ladyfingers before (usually substituted Sponge or angel food cake) but these took little time and are made with everyday staples you would have on hand. Thank you for sharing this recipe - I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is my first time making ladyfingers, and im looking forward to making my first tiramisu too. followed the recipe exactly. However, i think it is important to note the differences you may need to make in terms of baking time due to climate of different countries and how crispy you wish the fingers to be. I baked mine for abt 10mins and got golden brown cookie types. Tasted delicious and i ate those which broke. Things to note too would be the importance of incorporating air and folding the batter, esp wisking the yolks and sugar till pale, the colour should get thinner and it should definitely be stiffer. Also, they get pretty hard to remove from the baking sheet after baking so i would probably spray/spread a very thin layer of oil/ cooking spray next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and the result was flat pieces of cake, not ladyfingers. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These were excellent. Mine did not turn out like the picture - think my tip was too small on my pastry bag. I used these in the Tiramisu II recipe and they were excellent. I let them sit out overnight to dry out. They are even excellent on their own with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made the chocolate version of these and loved them! I've never had ladyfingers before so I don't know how these compare to store-bought but I can say they made a FANTASTIC tiramisu. They had a nice flavor plain too. I will definately use this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Perfect! I added a tsp. of vanilla and used a gluten-free flour mix, since these were for a gluten-and-dairy-free tiramisu. They baked up light and spongy, exactly as I'd hoped. The only difficulty I had was that the warmer the batter got, the flatter the cookies became, so it definitely pays to keep the batter cool. Also, these only took 6 minutes, probably due to the gluten-free flour. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I'm sorry to use this this way, but I was wondering if this recipe could be made ahead and frozen or stored some how? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is great...it reminds me just the way I remember ladyfingers are suppose to taste like. I used it for the tiramisu recipe and it worked out really well. Held the coffee well, did get too soggy. Actually, it was great just on its own maybe with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sha2alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've made homemade tiramisu twice now and used this recipe for ladyfingers both times. It is a great basic recipe (just what I like for tiramisu.) It has just a hint of sweetness, and great texture. My recommendations: If using for tiramisu, I like to pipe out half the mixture into individual "fingers" in order to get a little crunchier texture for my bottom layer. (The middle layer I don't mind a little softer, so just baking as one thin layer and cutting strips afterwards works fine for me.) I like to let them finish cooling on a cooling rack in order for them to harden a little more. If left too long on the pan or parchment, they stay too soft for tiramisu and will fall apart a little easier. (It also seems like working fast once you have the egg whites whipped works better. So, have everything ready before you get to beating.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Regina
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I made it twice. First time was kinda of messy. However, it was perfect the second time! I recommand using 1 cup of flour and add a bit of salt. I baked it in a flat pan and cut it into strips as the previous reviewers said. It looked much better at the second time and it make me happier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States