Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I was thrilled to find this recipe, but sorely disappointed. The recipe mixed up easily and very nicely, and I didn't notice a problem until I took them out of the oven. They deflated almost immediately and stuck rather badly to the parchment. I followed the recipe to a T, and the taste was fine (though a bit eggy) but the outcome was not at all ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I have been using this recipe exclusively for tiramisu. It has a soft consistency and I am able to increase the yield by adding 6 egg whites (left over from the tiramisu cream)which also allows the pastry to rise a bit more. Instead of creating lady fingers, I create multiple thin cakes to reduce assembly time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Too eggy for us. Prefer a more cake-like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These didn't puff up as much as I thought they would. So for my tiramisu, I decided to leave them whole. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
These are a lot of work for how they turn out. I probably won't make them again. I found out my store keeps them in the freezer in the bakery area and I have to request them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn.Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I've been using this recipe for my tiramisu for the past few months. It is easy and so much cheaper than buying it from the store. One note: I line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and spread the mixture as one huge ladyfinger on each instead of individual ones. I came to the conclusion that you don't see the actual shape of them if you're using them for tiramisu, so why make them small. Once it bakes, I just use a pizza roller to get the size I want. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Since I couldn't find ladyfingers anywhere in the short period of time I had, I made these to use as a layer in a lemon-raspberry cheese cake, so the presentation wasn't important this time...just the taste which was perfect. But I do suggest refrigerating dough if it is a bit runny otherwise they'll come out flat. Due to it being hot, mine started to spread when I piped them on the baking sheet. Use that tip & you should have ladyfingers...feel so much better that I found a easy recipe to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I found this very easy to make. I added 1/2 tsp of Vanilla but that didn't distract from the eggy taste. They came out light and fluffy and where a gold brown all over at 7 mins. I have not used them yet for my first Tiramisu and will update when I do. I have only had a couple of small spoons of tiramisu from my husbands dish at a restaurant and actually did not like it. He has been to Italy and eaten many there and liked the one at the restaurant so I will go by his gauge. I had a lady's finger with my desert and found it very crisp so am not sure if mine should be crisp also. I am disappointed that they did not turn out like the picture with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe and they came out great! I needed lady fingers for my tiramisu and could not find any at the store and thought I would try to make my own. I piped half into circles and made the other half as one sheet and cut out circles after it cooled. Came out nice both ways. I will make these again. Pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I've never eaten lady finger cookies so I really don't know how it's supposed to taste and what the texture should be.... I made Tiramisu by using this recipe and it turned out really good. These were on a soft side after being baked and I'm not sure if the texture was good or bad. But I was looking for a soft lady fingers for tiramisu so worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States