Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I tried making these twice, and wouldnt bother making them again because they are too difficult and don't turn out as good as the ones you buy at trader joe's for 1.89. If you are going to try let me give you a few pointers. Get your oven preheated really well, let it cycle on and off a few times. When you pipe the fingers onto the cookie sheet, make sure they are close enough to bake together, not more than a quarter inch apert. Make the hole in the plastic bag (make-shift pastry bag) small and use your piping to make them the right size. Don't over mix the two egg mixtures. Fold lightly. Good luck! .....really
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I used this recipe for the tiramisu that I wanted to make, and they came out pretty good. I was expecting them to come out a little puffier like the store bought cookies, but they flattened out (although they stayed soft). I ended up keeping mine in the oven for exactly 8 minutes, and they were baked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This recipe didn't work perfectly for me - however, I think it was due to the room temp when i was mixing and piping - little too hot - and the fingers spread out and turned out rather gummy. However, I saved a little batter in the fridge; I piped and baked a few fingers the next day and VOILA! Poofy and cakey, as they should be. So if you notice a first panful goes flat, try cooling the batter and trying again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Perfect! I wasn't able to find ladyfingers at the grocery store for a last-minute tiramisu, but these were so easy and perfect, I will use this recipe from now on! I use wax paper rolled into a cone, fill with the batter, twist the top closed and snip off the tip- couldn't be easier. I piped onto a baking sheet with a Silpat instead of parchment. Thanks for sharing the recipe~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Perfect and cheap! I had absolutely NO problem with piping them or having them spread too much. If you have that problem, you may not have whipped the eggs whites enough, or folded them in too roughly. Wonderful recipe Roxanne! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Good result, a bit fiddly. Do NOT bother to pipe them - the consistancy means they spread too much. Much easier to take a tablespoon and drop them. I had a more uniform shape this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This was easy to make. I would only bake for 6 min though. I burnt the first batch and I only baked it for 7 min, they were fine on the top, but black on the bottom. I did the 2nd batch for 6 min and they were perfect. Also I didn't have a pastry bag so I used a big ziplock bag and put the mix in the corner then cut the corner. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I couldn't believe how simple this recipe is! I'd never baked anything other that boxed mixes before, so I was understandably nervous, but this was great. I used most in Tiramisu, and the rest were inhaled by my fiance and his brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Wow! Easy and very good. Like little Angel food cakes. I agree with another reviewer, don't overcrowd. They tend to spread quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This was easy to make and taste good, but very hard to get a nice uniform shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States