Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by SaresMama
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I have to admit that I thought the recipe was a little easier. It was difficult by any means...but its not just a 'mix the ingredients and bake' recipe. However the hard work and patience totally paid off! I am so happy to have ladyfingers for tiramisu now, and I can't wait to make my tiramisu tomorrow!! These definately turned out yummy, PERFECTLY BEAUTIFUL FOR ME (I think the trick is to fold it gently and keep it cool), and I am so happy that I found this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was an easy, overall good recipe. I didn't care too much for the consistency, if you want "pretty" ladyfingers for something like a trife, they kind of go flat once piping them onto a cookiesheet. But the taste definately is awesome. I used them for tiramisu so they were fine for that. So glad to find a recipe, I live in a small town & you can NOT find ladyfingers within 30 miles! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very good the only thing I would suggest is the importance of a bit of vanilla (1/2 tsp) and extracts like almond or lemon to really kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Excellent!!! I have two Ladyfinger pans and they were great. Love the recipe. Actually, once you make homemade ladyfingers, you won't want to buy them. Thanks Roxanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I too was making tiramisu and couldn't find the prepackaged kind so I gave these a try. I didn't have the patience for piping so I just lined a jelly roll pan with greased waxed paper, spread the batter, baked for eight mins and after cooling, cut them into strips. Everyone who tried my tiramisu said that it was the best yet, thanks to the homemade ladyfingers- very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
563 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I tried making these twice, and wouldnt bother making them again because they are too difficult and don't turn out as good as the ones you buy at trader joe's for 1.89. If you are going to try let me give you a few pointers. Get your oven preheated really well, let it cycle on and off a few times. When you pipe the fingers onto the cookie sheet, make sure they are close enough to bake together, not more than a quarter inch apert. Make the hole in the plastic bag (make-shift pastry bag) small and use your piping to make them the right size. Don't over mix the two egg mixtures. Fold lightly. Good luck! .....really
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I used this recipe for the tiramisu that I wanted to make, and they came out pretty good. I was expecting them to come out a little puffier like the store bought cookies, but they flattened out (although they stayed soft). I ended up keeping mine in the oven for exactly 8 minutes, and they were baked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This recipe didn't work perfectly for me - however, I think it was due to the room temp when i was mixing and piping - little too hot - and the fingers spread out and turned out rather gummy. However, I saved a little batter in the fridge; I piped and baked a few fingers the next day and VOILA! Poofy and cakey, as they should be. So if you notice a first panful goes flat, try cooling the batter and trying again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Perfect! I wasn't able to find ladyfingers at the grocery store for a last-minute tiramisu, but these were so easy and perfect, I will use this recipe from now on! I use wax paper rolled into a cone, fill with the batter, twist the top closed and snip off the tip- couldn't be easier. I piped onto a baking sheet with a Silpat instead of parchment. Thanks for sharing the recipe~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Perfect and cheap! I had absolutely NO problem with piping them or having them spread too much. If you have that problem, you may not have whipped the eggs whites enough, or folded them in too roughly. Wonderful recipe Roxanne! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States