Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made these because I was going to make tiramisu. Instead of piping (dough was too liquidy), I put in a jelly roll pan and baked 1 minute longer. They turned out very nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
i made these and they turned out great! i didn't have a problem with the batter being runny like some users, and i think the trick is to make sure you beat both the egg whites and yolks until very stiff and maybe a touch more flour. They are bland, but thats how ladyfingers are supposed to be. They're great with coffee or in tiramisu though. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Ok, I've read all the reviews before making these.. The taste is yummy! Can't wait to see how they'll behave in my tiramisu.. But they were really hard to handle.. I was hoping that they'll come out like any of the posted pictures, but unfortunately they didn't.. They spreaded in a very funny way (it was so funny for my husband but not me!!).. next time I'll try to increast the amount of flour a little bit in order to have a less runny batter.. Cuz i've tried freezing them for a few minutes but still the mixture was runny.. Whatsoever, i will never buy the 100-ingredients-very-hard-to-find ladyfingers from the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Spongy and light. Turned out very good, despite my first time. I put the batter in the fridge for it to cool down a bit, and simply spread it onto a wax paper lined pan and baked, then cut into strips. Looks very neat, probably better than piping. But quite bland, even though I used a bit of vanilla... for the original recipe, I'll suggest 1 tsp of vanilla. Otherwise, it's a great decoration for cakes! ^-^ UPDATE: I'm considering calling this 'sponge cake' instead of 'ladyfingers' ... that's exactly what the texture is like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
After readings some the other reviews, I thought I'd share a couple of little tips I learned from the pastry chef at Joel's (a five star restaurant in Atlanta) to keep ladyfingers from spreading too much when baking. First make sure you've sifted the flour really well before using. Second, keep an eye on the egg whites and don't over-whip them. Third, GENTLY fold the egg yolks into the whites. Again, don't over whip! Finally, place a cookie cutter on the parchment paper or silpat and pipe the mixture into the cookie cutter until it's about halfway full. Lift the cookie cutter up and move it approximately 1 inch away and repeat. You end up with nice round absorbent ladyfingers that are perfect for tiramisu. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
693 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELPARSONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I have Celiac disease, and recipes are hard to come by. I found that by changing the wheat flour with corn flour, or a rice flour, I got a wonderful, tender cookie that tasted just like the ladyfingers I ate before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I definitely prefer these to storebought ladyfingers. Although if you're going to soak them in espresso for tiramisu or whatever, you can confidently use storebought. These disappeared quickly over fresh coffee :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These cookies were awesome! I found them very easy to make. And I love the fact that they require so few ingredients and such a short baking time. They are very light and airy! I didn't have a problem with them spreading too much, like others did. Although I can say, that they are kind of a thinner cookie, which worked well for my Tiramisu. I'm still not sure about the Tiramisu, but the cookies rocked! I got 38 cookies from this recipe, it may vary for others, as I "piped" them through a plastic bag, and I wasn't very good at getting them all the same size. I did cook them for 7 minutes, instead of 8. I found that the bottoms were nice and brown and the tops were very light. My husband ate like 12 of them with a tall glass of milk before I made my tiramisu! I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by SaresMama
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I have to admit that I thought the recipe was a little easier. It was difficult by any means...but its not just a 'mix the ingredients and bake' recipe. However the hard work and patience totally paid off! I am so happy to have ladyfingers for tiramisu now, and I can't wait to make my tiramisu tomorrow!! These definately turned out yummy, PERFECTLY BEAUTIFUL FOR ME (I think the trick is to fold it gently and keep it cool), and I am so happy that I found this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was an easy, overall good recipe. I didn't care too much for the consistency, if you want "pretty" ladyfingers for something like a trife, they kind of go flat once piping them onto a cookiesheet. But the taste definately is awesome. I used them for tiramisu so they were fine for that. So glad to find a recipe, I live in a small town & you can NOT find ladyfingers within 30 miles! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States