Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. They didn't turn out as fluffy as those in some pictures, but they baked perfectly and made the most excellent tira misu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I followed the directions exactly,but these were runny and baked flat. Even when I refrigerated the batter, it still ended up spreading. I don't know why mine did not turn out light and spongy...They still tasted good, but the texture was all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
For some reason the South does NOT like to sell ladyfingers anywhere! I was craving some tiramisu, so I finally just made my own ladyfingers, and honestly, these were the best I've ever had! It was a little messy to make them, since I couldn't find the tip for the pastry bag, but my dog didn't seem to mind licking all the excess that dripped onto the floor. These were light and spongy, and tasted absolutely amazing! After making my tiramisu with these, my boyfriend raved and raved about how awesome it was and my co-workers kept requesting I make more, or even just the ladyfingers. These are incredible! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
These were really good and turned out perfect. I think I know what is causing the "spreading" for some of you. My first two batches were put on room-temperature prepared cookie sheets and baked for 8 minutes. Absolutely no spreading. I was careful to refrigerate the rest of the ladyfinger mixture to keep it cool while the first ones baked. BUT, I guess the cookie sheets were too warm when I put the 2nd batches on them and there was some spreading. So I believe the temperature of the baking sheets - not necessarily the ladyfinger mixture - is an important factor to minimize spreading. The spreading did not change the flavor and I used these for the center part of my trifle. I have never made ladyfingers before (usually substituted Sponge or angel food cake) but these took little time and are made with everyday staples you would have on hand. Thank you for sharing this recipe - I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is my first time making ladyfingers, and im looking forward to making my first tiramisu too. followed the recipe exactly. However, i think it is important to note the differences you may need to make in terms of baking time due to climate of different countries and how crispy you wish the fingers to be. I baked mine for abt 10mins and got golden brown cookie types. Tasted delicious and i ate those which broke. Things to note too would be the importance of incorporating air and folding the batter, esp wisking the yolks and sugar till pale, the colour should get thinner and it should definitely be stiffer. Also, they get pretty hard to remove from the baking sheet after baking so i would probably spray/spread a very thin layer of oil/ cooking spray next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and the result was flat pieces of cake, not ladyfingers. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These were excellent. Mine did not turn out like the picture - think my tip was too small on my pastry bag. I used these in the Tiramisu II recipe and they were excellent. I let them sit out overnight to dry out. They are even excellent on their own with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made the chocolate version of these and loved them! I've never had ladyfingers before so I don't know how these compare to store-bought but I can say they made a FANTASTIC tiramisu. They had a nice flavor plain too. I will definately use this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Perfect! I added a tsp. of vanilla and used a gluten-free flour mix, since these were for a gluten-and-dairy-free tiramisu. They baked up light and spongy, exactly as I'd hoped. The only difficulty I had was that the warmer the batter got, the flatter the cookies became, so it definitely pays to keep the batter cool. Also, these only took 6 minutes, probably due to the gluten-free flour. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I'm sorry to use this this way, but I was wondering if this recipe could be made ahead and frozen or stored some how? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States