Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
awesome...all i did different was spread the batter out into a pan, bake, and then cut up as another reviewer suggested. Worked great for my tiramisu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe's terrific & we need to get the rating up so more will try it out! My local grocery store didn't have soft Ladyfingers for my Tiramisu and I thought how lovely it would be to homemake Ladyfingers in my homemade Tiramisu! I was so happy to find a recipe here. And it worked perfectly and wow yum in the Tiramisu. I took the advice given and: sifted the flour twice, did not overwhip the eggs, & be gentle about folding in the egg whites. Also took the tip about chilling the batter. After making it I kept it in the bowl and put it in the fridge for a bit. No spreading or problems of any kind. Thanks for this great recipe to make my Tiramisu truly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
these were good- but the first two batches burned, and the third batch came close. but other than that, they were great! *EDIT* i just relized that the batches that burned were on non-stick pans, maybe it was the darker color... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live, Laugh, Love, Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. They didn't turn out as fluffy as those in some pictures, but they baked perfectly and made the most excellent tira misu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I followed the directions exactly,but these were runny and baked flat. Even when I refrigerated the batter, it still ended up spreading. I don't know why mine did not turn out light and spongy...They still tasted good, but the texture was all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
For some reason the South does NOT like to sell ladyfingers anywhere! I was craving some tiramisu, so I finally just made my own ladyfingers, and honestly, these were the best I've ever had! It was a little messy to make them, since I couldn't find the tip for the pastry bag, but my dog didn't seem to mind licking all the excess that dripped onto the floor. These were light and spongy, and tasted absolutely amazing! After making my tiramisu with these, my boyfriend raved and raved about how awesome it was and my co-workers kept requesting I make more, or even just the ladyfingers. These are incredible! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
These were really good and turned out perfect. I think I know what is causing the "spreading" for some of you. My first two batches were put on room-temperature prepared cookie sheets and baked for 8 minutes. Absolutely no spreading. I was careful to refrigerate the rest of the ladyfinger mixture to keep it cool while the first ones baked. BUT, I guess the cookie sheets were too warm when I put the 2nd batches on them and there was some spreading. So I believe the temperature of the baking sheets - not necessarily the ladyfinger mixture - is an important factor to minimize spreading. The spreading did not change the flavor and I used these for the center part of my trifle. I have never made ladyfingers before (usually substituted Sponge or angel food cake) but these took little time and are made with everyday staples you would have on hand. Thank you for sharing this recipe - I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is my first time making ladyfingers, and im looking forward to making my first tiramisu too. followed the recipe exactly. However, i think it is important to note the differences you may need to make in terms of baking time due to climate of different countries and how crispy you wish the fingers to be. I baked mine for abt 10mins and got golden brown cookie types. Tasted delicious and i ate those which broke. Things to note too would be the importance of incorporating air and folding the batter, esp wisking the yolks and sugar till pale, the colour should get thinner and it should definitely be stiffer. Also, they get pretty hard to remove from the baking sheet after baking so i would probably spray/spread a very thin layer of oil/ cooking spray next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and the result was flat pieces of cake, not ladyfingers. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These were excellent. Mine did not turn out like the picture - think my tip was too small on my pastry bag. I used these in the Tiramisu II recipe and they were excellent. I let them sit out overnight to dry out. They are even excellent on their own with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States