Lady Locks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I did not make this recipe-- But my sister did. They are AMAZING. I hardly ever rate recipes, and never ones i did not make. But when she told me where she got the recipe I just had to give it a review purely as a taste tester. They seem very involved, but oh so worth it. I was really impressed. And I was surprised when she told me there was cottage cheese in there. Mmm, rich, creamy, salty, crisp and everything else you'd want in a taste experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CristalJoy

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Best Lady Lock recipe EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great recipe- I've never used pudding mix before. There are some folks in PA who make aluminum forms so that you don't have to go through the whole clothespin ordeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
I had this recipe before and misplaced it so I decided to look for it again on myrecipes.com and to my surpise here it is. I am so glad to have it again they are not hard to make just take awhile with having to refirgerate the dough and cut all the strips ,but the more times you make it the quicker you get Practice makes Prefectness. I have made them MANY times and the are fairly easy wants you get the hang of them Enjoy everyone :-Þ Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
awesome recipe!!!! follow instructions to a tee, because any subs will alter recipe too much have made 3 times already and the last time a tried to replace cottage cheese with sour cream and strained yogurt, makes cookie too moist stick with cottage cheese. make sure that you cream the sugar and shortening about 5 min to get the best blend. Added note : I blend my cottage cheese in blender til it is smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I was looking for an alternative to puff pastry. This was much, much easier to work with than the puff pastry. I creamed together the fat and cottage cheese in a food processor for approx 5 minutes until glossy smooth. I needed more flour than 4 cups (four and a half to five, but add gradually) beacuse the dough was very sticky to start with. The flavor of the cooked cookie shell was superb, but it has a different texture than puff pastry... it was more like a Pillsbury crescent roll. It was not flaky , but it was tender. I can see this dough recipe used for a variety of things (appetizers, tarts, etc) and will definietly keep in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
I made half the dough recipe and ended up with 5 dozen cookies! Good thing I made a whole batch of the filling. These cookies are easy to make and wonderfully delicious. They are just a bit time consuming. I used foil covered round colthesd pins that I rubbed a little shortening on. Cut the strips with a pizza cutter to make things go quicker. Make sure you mix the cottage cheese and the sugar/butter for a good bit to blend everything and break up the cheese curds. This will help with the 'cottage cheese after taste'. When cooking the flour and milk to a paste, make sure it is VERY THICK and refrigeratre it for several hours or else the filling will be too runny. Depending on the humidity and the thickness of the paste you may need to add more powdered sugar to make a stiffer filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
this recipe was so-so. i didn't like it that it had the after taste of cottage cheese. i don't think i will make these again. or maybe try to omit the cottage cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States