Lacy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Too gritty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was a PERFECT cookie - I followed the recipe to a "T" - no changes. As for baking directions, I did use parchment paper and it was flawless. The measuring teaspoon size scoops are essential - it doesn't seem like much at all, but the batter spreads beautifully, and if you use an actual measuring teaspoon the cookies come out uniform. Make sure and leave plenty of space between cookies -2 - 3" or so. And, yes, check the first batch after 8 minutes or so in the oven - edges should be golden, and the middle firms up as they cool. Mine were great between 8-10 minutes. These are delicious, fast, easy and beautiful. I got rave reviews, some even said it was their new favorite cookie. A friend's mom made these for me 30 years ago and I've always remembered them. I finally searched for the recipe. I'm so glad I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker88
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I make these every year for holiday gifting. I'm in Calgary (3000 ft above sea level) so I modify slightly. I add 2 add'l tbsp. of flour, bake @ 350 for 9 minutes, turning the pan halfway through. (I like them a little brown on the edges)I also add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, just a personal preference. I use a small scoop to ensure they're exactly the same size then I put melted semi-sweet chocolate chips between 2 cookies. These cookies are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is a nice crisp cookie. NOTE: this is NOT a normal oatmeal cookie. It is SUPPOSED to be paper thin with crisp edges and a slightly chewy center. If you want a normal, chewy oatmeal cookie this is not your recipe. I followed the recipe as is, except used almond extract instead of vanilla (just b/c I love almond flavoring). My cookies took around 15 minutes to bake. The cookies are super sweet, almost too sweet. They taste like angel food cake batter tastes, if that makes any sense, lol! They are really yummy and would pair wonderfully with coffee. They are easy, delicious, and I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These cookie are gorgeous! Very sweet, almost like a candy cookie, but oh so delicious. If you're looking for a traditional oatmeal cookie, this is not it. Think of these as a rich, high class cousin. A few tips: (1) Use a silicone baking mat. If you don't own one, get one. If you can, get two. They're worth every penny. I tried using parchment and they stuck to the stuff. (2) If you use a very thin (preferably metal) spatula, you'll be able to transfer these cookies to a cooling rack only a couple of minutes after they come out of the oven without damaging their perfect edges. (3) Use quick oats. The resulting cookie will be oh so lacy and beautiful. (People will ask what kind of cookie they are because they don't look anything like oatmeal cookies.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
OMG! I made a triple batch of this recipe two days ago and have only a few left! Almost impossible to stop eating these. My grown son's have been back to our house twice to get another tray! Like another reviewer, I added 1/2 c more oats and 1/8 c more flour. I only put 1 tsp. of the dough on the parchment lined cookie sheets and pressed them down a little. I baked them for around 8-9 min, depending on if I had one large cookie sheet or two smaller cookie sheets in the oven. I immediately removed them from the paper and let them cool on wax papered lined platters. It would be very easy to mold them into shapes as mentioned by other reviewers. I have already been asked for this recipe by several friends who I had given them to as gifts and who are already asking for more! Thanks so much for this recipe and I will be making these frequently. I always keep cookie dough made up in the freezer so that I can have them ready in a minutes notice. I hope this will freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
So I'm in the middle of my second batch and still smiling. The recipe is right on. Parchment paper is the way to go. Non stick reynolds wrap was a diaster. I tried to take them off right away / let them cool / and in the refridgerator and nothing worked on the foil. Still using the same two pieces of paper and its smooth sailing. Flat tsp of dough makes a 2- 2 1/2 inch cookie. I changed the temp to 350 and 9 minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Not sure what some people are doing wrong, but these are awesome! people always ask me how I made them and for the recipe. Its a little too sweet for my taste though. Not sure if the results would as good if I decreased the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
They are amazing I wanted thin and they were thinnnn!!!!! They are sooooooo addicting!!!!!!! they are perfect for my kid's school bake sale!!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRealMz_G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Wonderful flavor ! I rolled theses quickly after baking & when cooled, I dipped one end in milk chocolate. Got rave reviews. Thanks for sharing this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States