LaDonna's Spaghetti with Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I've made this sauce a few times (with some variations) and I think it is fabulous! I use 1/2 ground chicken and 1/2 beef though to make it a little less fattening. Otherwise, it is perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I have never attempted homemade spaghetti sauce before but I had an over abundance of tomatoes in the garden so I figured I would try it. I found LaDonna'a recipe and I decided to try it, I juiced the tomatoes and bought the sauce and paste. I wanted to can the sauce so I did not put the ground beef in it. This sauce is awesome. I don't think I will ever be able to buy spaghetti sauce again. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I used this recipe as more of a guide, since I was trying to use up some things I had on hand without running to the store, that said...I still remained quite true to the recipe and yielded delicious results! I didn't have tomato juice or sauce... I simply substituted canned fire roasted tomatoes and loved the chunky tomatoes. I had to add a little extra water since I was losing some of the liquid from the juice and sauce, but it worked just fine! I loved the carrots and mushrooms. I was tempted to slice the mushrooms but really enjoyed their rustic, hearty texture when quartered. I found with my substitutions I needed more salt and pepper than I'd generally add, which says a lot about how much sodium is in canned juice and sauce! I used fresh herbs from my new Spring herb plants! And served over cheese tortellini. Great recipe or guide, however you choose to use it and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This sauce was rather tasty and my family loved it, but I did leave out the carrots and the mushrooms for some of my family doesn't like mushrooms and I don't particularly like carrots in spaghetti sauce. So with taking those two items out, it still definitely tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I really didn't care for this sauce. Not sure why, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie
Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I like it!! It clings to the spaghetti real nicely and taste great....for vegetarians u could make this without the meat and the mushrooms give it a nice substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I'm so glad to see a no-sugar recipe for spaghetti sauce here, like my mom used to make. She took the tomato ingredients, some onion, garlic and carrot and blended them before adding it to the browned meat...less chunks for picky eaters, I suppose, lol! But the carrot in your recipe gives it a special something that sugar just can't match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very good and cheaper to make than store bought. Thanks for the recipe! I will definetly hang on to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is fantastic!! I used this with Roast Beef and Cheese Roll-Ups (5 star)and know I'll make triple batches in the future to freeze and store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Really great sauce, used in lasagna also, everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States