La Genovese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good!!! Thank you for providing a recipe that popped up when I was looking for a quick, dairy-free, gluten-free way to use 1 pound of ground beef. This was awesome. I think for my own taste I will cut the oil in half and double the carrots or add another veggie (the latter just because vegetables are my only source of carbs). Thank you so much, I was so pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Not sure what this dish really is but 4 stars for ease of preparation and decent flavours. We had it with WW tortilla and topped with shredded cheddar cheese. That combination made it tasty! Also I added a few sprinkling of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I make a similar dish to this and serve it over rice. I usually add a pack of brown gravy mix to mine and sometimes I put in some petite pois (small peas). I was wanting to cook this dish tonight so I was looking for a different variation of it. I think I will try this with some chicken broth instead of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin_rage2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raceland, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lockport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was very good and I am sure would taste super good over pasta. I however made a departure from the original recipe as I did not want to serve pasta to my family tonight. I made mini patties mixed with a tbls of dijon and 2 tsp. of ranch dressing powder. I grilled them on the George Forman and then added to the vegetables, wine and spices in the skillet. I only used 2 TBLS. of oil. This had great flavor. Will make again over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I read other posts and searched out more imput on other ingredients to make less bland. I used 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 tsp dried marjoram, 1/2 tsp fennel seed and grated parmesan on top after complete. Because I added other ingredients to recipe makes a 4 not a 5, but with ingredients the rating is a 5. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
It seemed to me like it didn't have a taste at all. So I added a package of beef bouillon and water for taste. It came out alot better after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Good recipe, but I'd advise not to use white cooking wine - just doesn't have enough flavor. Next time I will use real wine, likely more than the recipe calls for, otherwise it may be too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
this is a great recipe , I'll make this a lot thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Four stars only because this is worth trying. It _is_ simple, obviously, but also very fast. Try extra virgin olive oil or - if you have some - spiced olive oil (i.e. with hot peppers in it for flavour). This was good on fusili but could work on spaghetti too. Added some basil and parsley to the mix, you could add hot pepper flakes for heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
By itself this recipe was very bland. However, after adding quite a bit of Louisiana hot sauce, it tasted delicious. Goes very well with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States