LJ's Easy Penne with Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Yum! I changed up a few things. I had a large can of crushed tomatoes with basil but I still added some fresh basil at the end. I didn't cook this as long as listed. My family doesn't think a meal is complete w/o a meat so I did add some sauteed chicken breast. For the light cream I used a little half and half and a few tablespoons of low fat cream cheese. They have some great new high protein/whole wheat pastas out there now that I used. Thank you for sharing your recipe, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
oh boy, I'm having a very difficult time choosing the perfect Vodka Sauce. This is delish. I did sprinkle fresh basil over when serving when I read another reviewer who added some. I also find that using crushed tomatoes in these recipes really reduces the risk of being too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is absolutely wonderful. I have used this recipe about 20 time since I saw it here. I use it for all parties I host especially the holidays. A bowl of penne before the main course. It's a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Engine161

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bill
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Outstanding recipe! My wife and I made it with some lobster raviolis we bought at Costco. Fantastic! Get some good Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe - I have made this numerous times and it is always a winner! Definitely let it simmer for the two hours, it makes a difference as at the flavors really meld at the end and the resulting sauce is so complex and flavorful. While it is absolutely delicious exactly as the recipe is written, like most cooks, I have made some small changes. Sometimes it tastes like it just needs 'something' and I have found that adding one chicken bouillon cube (I live abroad so I use either Magi or Knorr) durning the last 30min gives it a little more depth without making it taste chicken-y. I also use whipping/heavy cream, add 2-3 bay leaves and increase the vodka to one cup. This is fab vegetarian, but with whole Italian sausage I imagine it would be incredible. I have found this to be an excellent recipe, super easy and impressive. Like most sauces, it is even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Really good. I wasn't impressed with the way it smelled while cooking but thank goodness the taste was great. I did add a little sugar to it to cut the acid from the tomato. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I doubled this recipe for the 8 of us and had plenty of sauce. I used butter in place of the olive oil and added some fresh parsley and basil. I used lactose free half and half as well as dairy free Parmesan cheese. I added a few tablespoons of dairy free cream cheese just to thicken it up a little. Delicious, simple and better than what I had in a restaurant recently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nj
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I've made this a few times with these minor changes: I use crushed tomatoes with italian herbs, half and half, 1/3 cup vodka and use freshly grated Parmesan cheese added about 15 -30 minutes before serving. I serve this on cheese tortellini with italian sausage, garlic bread and salad. I also add about a teaspoon of sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
In a word...awesome. My boyfriend has been talking about vodka sauce for two years. We've tried sauces at restaurants, but he always seemed disappointed. So i set out to please him myself and thanks to this recipe I hit the nail on the head. The only thing I added was 1lb of lean ground turky and served it was Falfalle pasta. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Everyone thought this sauce was good. I liked adding the romano cheese it was different. I would make it again but this doesn't taste anything like penne a la vodka from an Italian Restaurant in NYC that's for sure. Plus I took the advice from other reviews and added 2 tsp of sugar. Next time I will do 1 tsp but it def needed sugar. Also next time i will try a little less vodka
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States