LJ's Easy Penne with Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This recipe was so easy to make. I used parmesam cheese instead of romano and it still turned out wonderful! I only had heavy cream, i definately recommend using light cream, it was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn Yeager Poffinberger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
If you are reading this review you should know there is no reason to try any other recipe. THIS IS THE BEST and so easy! Some other recipes are overly complicated. This is simple and delicious. Thank you LJ! This is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Wow! This was very good. I sauteed the garlic along with the onion then added the crushed red pepper flakes. After adding the crushed tomatoes I added 1 Tbsp. of basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, 1 tsp. of parsley, 1/2 tsp. of salt and 2 tsp. of sugar. I also used a good vodka and half and half instead of light cream and parmesan instead of romano (didn't have any on hand). I used 1/2 pound of penne pasta and served this with garlic breadsticks. The sauce was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Absolutley delicious. I made this on a date after being a little rusty from cooking... I impressed MYSELF with this phenomenal dish!!! I used whole canned tomatoes and crushed them while they cooked for extra juice! LOVED THIS DISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. We had invited some friends over and I was looking for vegetarian recipes. It was a hit with everyone! I had calculated for 12 people and was afraid there wouldn't be enough when I saw the amount of sauce. I did use only one 1/2 boxes of Penne Pasta but had more than enough for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was easy and excellent. I didn't have 2 hours for it to simmer and it was delicious after only about 10 minutes of cooking. Added some extra red pepper flakes because we like it spicy. Also added some vegetables to the pasta: greens, chopped fennel, and zucchini. delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I actually did add about 2 TBLS of chopped fresh basil and 1 tablespoon of sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. Not sure but I think I made it better!! Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Mercy this is good! Wish we could rate with more than 5 stars!! Like a previous reviewer, add a bit of sugar. Tweak it a little everytime I make it (which is often - especially good on gnocchi!) Made a chunky version by adding 1/2 chopped green pepper and using petite diced tomatoes instead of crushed. Cooked the tomatoes and other veggies, then stirred in the vodka in the last 5 minutes, then stirring in fat free half and half at the last minute just til it's heated through. Cut the calories, but same taste and texture as the cream. Can't wait til summer to try it with fresh tomatoes! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' 2nite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is delicious and easy. I added some basil and about 1 tsp. sugar. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Sooooo good. Easy is right.....this sauce took no time to make....I was a lil nervous about a whole 1/2c of vodka since I have never made this kind of sauce before....but...it was perfect..I did use fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of the light cream... to cut the fat. Glad I tried this....family enjoyed!!! Served with garlic bread and a salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States