LJ's Easy Penne with Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe - I have made this numerous times and it is always a winner! Definitely let it simmer for the two hours, it makes a difference as at the flavors really meld at the end and the resulting sauce is so complex and flavorful. While it is absolutely delicious exactly as the recipe is written, like most cooks, I have made some small changes. Sometimes it tastes like it just needs 'something' and I have found that adding one chicken bouillon cube (I live abroad so I use either Magi or Knorr) durning the last 30min gives it a little more depth without making it taste chicken-y. I also use whipping/heavy cream, add 2-3 bay leaves and increase the vodka to one cup. This is fab vegetarian, but with whole Italian sausage I imagine it would be incredible. I have found this to be an excellent recipe, super easy and impressive. Like most sauces, it is even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Really good. I wasn't impressed with the way it smelled while cooking but thank goodness the taste was great. I did add a little sugar to it to cut the acid from the tomato. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I doubled this recipe for the 8 of us and had plenty of sauce. I used butter in place of the olive oil and added some fresh parsley and basil. I used lactose free half and half as well as dairy free Parmesan cheese. I added a few tablespoons of dairy free cream cheese just to thicken it up a little. Delicious, simple and better than what I had in a restaurant recently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nj
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I've made this a few times with these minor changes: I use crushed tomatoes with italian herbs, half and half, 1/3 cup vodka and use freshly grated Parmesan cheese added about 15 -30 minutes before serving. I serve this on cheese tortellini with italian sausage, garlic bread and salad. I also add about a teaspoon of sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
In a word...awesome. My boyfriend has been talking about vodka sauce for two years. We've tried sauces at restaurants, but he always seemed disappointed. So i set out to please him myself and thanks to this recipe I hit the nail on the head. The only thing I added was 1lb of lean ground turky and served it was Falfalle pasta. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Everyone thought this sauce was good. I liked adding the romano cheese it was different. I would make it again but this doesn't taste anything like penne a la vodka from an Italian Restaurant in NYC that's for sure. Plus I took the advice from other reviews and added 2 tsp of sugar. Next time I will do 1 tsp but it def needed sugar. Also next time i will try a little less vodka
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This sauce is really good! I used about 1/4 c heavy cream, and the rest fat free half and half. A little extra vodka, and doctored it up with basil, parsley, and oregano. For me, adding a few packs of splenda is a must. It cuts the acid and gives a hint of sweetness. Served this with sliced chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this for a party and everyone asked me for the recipe- I was soooo proud!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
My husband and I enjoyed this rich sauce, but the kids found it too heavy. They preferred Penne with Pink Vodka Sauce from this site. If you make this, add 1 tsp. each of basil, oregano, and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I searched for a vodka sauce recipe and so glad I found this one. It was delicious. Added a little garlic because I like it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States