Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This stew was phenomenal! I've tried a few stew recipes in the past and they all seemed to come up short in the flavor department except for this one. I made it tonight for my family and they loved it! I didn't make any changes to this recipe only one addition.........1 1/2 teaspoons of salt, that's it! And the only reason why I added the extra salt was to flavor the potatoes. In my opinion, potatoes need salt. Great recipe just as it is (with the addition of salt). This has become our go to stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a great beef stew. After about 5 hours in the crock pot (you need a really nice sized crock pot because it makes alot) I tasted it for flavoring...decided it needed a little something added. So, I added a can of Rotel tomatoes, can of beef consomme', a nice dash of garlic salt, about 1/4 cup of ketchup and THEN it all came together. Served it to company and they all loved it on a nice chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I thought this was amazing. I did make a few changes, but they are minor and are as follows: I only used 1.5 pounds of beef stew meat and made up for that by using one extra potato and a pound of frozen peas. I used medium white mushrooms quartered instead of the button mushrooms. Other than that I stuck to the recipe. I think that it was a little labor intensive where it probably doesn't need to be...I will probably be lazy next time I make it. All in all this is a very tasty dish and reheats well. For dinner last night I had two bowls of it followed by another bowl reheated right before bed. Today for lunch at work, i had a small bowl of it with some ciabatta bread for dipping. Very tasty...and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Ridiculously amazing beef stew! I used a claret for the wine. This dish was incredibly popular at our Christmas dinner with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was delicious. I personally like more vegetables and less salty soups, so next time, I will just add one packet of french onion soup mix and add additional herbs (not including salt). I'll also add morevegetables-probably carrots, corn and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Whoa, baby, this is the one! While my family loves any sort of beef stew, I'm not usually a fan ... except for "Kyle"s Favorite." Delicious, exquisite, I can eat this for breakfast. I halved the recipe, used fresh parsley and per another reviewer's idea, used canned beef broth instead of water, a pinch of allspice and some bay leaves. This is simply heaven in a crockpot. Thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I followed this recipe with a venison roast. Boy, was this good! My family loved the flavor. Absolutely the best stew I've ever made. Thanks for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I usually try to make a recipe exactly as stated, then with my own tweaks before making a review, but for this recipe it wasn't the case. I had all the ingredients on hand except for the wine and mushrooms (with the addition of celery that needed to be used), so I thought this was the base recipe for me. It turned out very bland. I ended up going to the store for the McCormick beef stew spice blend, while also adding some tomato paste, soy sauce and seasoning salt towards the end. I give this two stars for the cooking method, but the flavoring wasn't right for us personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
LOVED this! So nice and yummy on the cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe written as is, however I would recommend dicing the onion instead of quartering. I've tried with a few altercations such using chicken breast cut into cubes & adding parsnips and peas. It makes a WONDERFUL chicken stew. For chicken I use a chardonnay and for beef a pinot noir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States