Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I found this recipe because my husband does not like tomato based stews. This was a great recipe and the family loved it. I agree with other reviewers that it is a little labor intensive for your typical crockpot meal. However, I do believe some of the steps, such as the sautéed the onion and garlic in butter gives it an added depth of flavor. As with all recipes you adjust them to your personal style and likes. I would agree adding beef broth is a great change. The Worcestershire, wine, soup mix, should not be left out, this is what makes it different from the vast majority of stew recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I've tried many Beef Stew recipes, bu tthis is the BEST! My family literally begs for it on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this over the weekend (without the mushrooms) and everyone absolutely loved it!! I usually give away more portions that my family eats from crock pot recipes, but only one serving of this beef stew was given away - very tasty! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We have made this three times now. We have to make a couple of alterations for food allergies but we all love it! Nothing better than walking in the house after a long day and smelling this cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this with only about 2lbs of beef and one onion soup packet which was too strong. Next time I'll probably use 3lbs of beef with one soup packet. I also used two bags of frozen stew veggies and omitted the mushrooms. Cooked on high for 4 hours, then low for 1 hour (was short on time) and it came out thick and tender. Leftovers were delicious after I added some extra water. Even my picky one year old ate it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
My favorite beef stew recipe. I didn't include the mushrooms because we don't like them but it was still very good! I have made this numerous times. My grocery store didn't have burgandy wine once so I used Merlot cooking wine. It was good but the burgandy is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Delish! I added a 15 oz can of beef broth and used onion mushroom and beefy onion mixes instead of plain onion, just becuase I keep those onhand in my pantry. I also several celery stalks because they needed to be used up. Cooking time was perfect, 1 hour on high then 8 hours on low for tender meat and it thickens up nicely with the cornstarch slurry. Though I think if you were leaving for work you could skip the 1 hr on high step and stick it on low. My honey loved that mushrooms were included in this stew. I also added some dried thyme to the mix because I think it goes well with the red wine and I just like the spice in Winter meals. I think the addition of a bay leaf or two would provide nice flavor as well, I'll try that next time. Thanks for a great, hearty and satifying crockpot-friendly recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious. This recipe is a "keeper." I made one half the recipe as I do not have a large slow cooker. Thank you Heather G for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Cartwright Cawthra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I cut this recipe in half (for my smaller family) and used vegetable stock (homemade this time) instead of the wine. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The best stew I ever made..McCormick Beef stew seasoning mix packet in place of one of the onion soup packets and cooked it on high for 2 hours and low for 2 1/2 hours due to time constraints and it was fork tender, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States