Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Delicious! Cut out some steps to make it less time consuming, just threw two packets of the soup mix in the pot dry and added a carton of beef broth. Also sautéed onion, mushrooms and garlic together and then used red wine to deglaze. Otherwise followed exactly. Get some good crusty bread to mop up every drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is fantastic! It has tons of steps, in my opinion, for a slow cooker recipe but it is worth evey step! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I hate reviewing recipes I have altered, but I must say we enjoyed this one. I made the stew on the stove without potatoes, simmered for about an hour. I then made mashed potatoes and covered the stew in a pie dish and made a version of shepherds pie. Baked at 400 for 25 min to get a nice crust, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This stew was easy and very tasty. My family doesn't generally care for stew but really enjoyed this one. The only thing I did different was instead of cooking with the burgundy wine I used beef oxo. Also did use mushrooms. Worth trying for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good. Followed recipe exactly except I halved it, omitted the mushrooms and added squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made this last night and actually followed the recipe. My husband, who is British, usually doesn't really like the American beef stews and prefers the potatoless UK ones. He all but licked his plate with this one. One thing I did, though, was what with living in the UK, I can get suet dumpling mix..so I did and they really fitted well with the stew. I'd think regular dumplings would be just as good. This recipe is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My family loved this stew! I used another reviewer's suggestion to save time. I combined beef bullion and one packet onion soup mix with two cups water and added that to the crock pot. Then I added a bit of steak seasoning to the flour to season the beef. Very yummy! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kodak, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
A great stew recipe. Both my husband and I loved this! The only modifications I made was I didn't add the mushrooms (we don't care for them) and substitued celery instead. We will definitely be adding this to our rotation during the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I can see why this is "Kyle's Favorite" as this has definitely become a favorite in our house! I did however modify it a little to cut down on the number of steps. I added a little of garlic and onion powders along to the flour mixture and added the Worcestershire right to the crock pot. I also used whole baby carrots and whole baby red potatoes. I didn't bother with the boiling water, but rather added the onion soup mix right to the crock pot with beef broth. I also quartered a large vidalia onion, used portabella mushrooms, and added all that with the garlic and burgundy wine right to the crock pot along with a couple of bay leaves and let go for 8 hours on low. It smelled wonderful and thickened up nicely with the cornstarch mixture. It was wonderful with a side of french bread and a nice glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent beef stew! I wanted a simple recipe to throw in the slow cooker while I was at work, and come home to a delicious home-cooked, hearty meal, and this certainly fits the bill. The night before I browned the stew meat & onions, and cut the veggies up, and made the onion soup mix, and then put them in the fridge all together. The next morning, before work, I just tossed it in the crock pot with a couple ounces of red wine, turned it on low and then went to work. I cooked it on low for 9 hours instead of an hour on high first, only because I knew I wouldn't make it home an hour later to turn the heat down. The results were amazing- the meat stayed in cubed form-rather than falling apart (I prefer it to stay cubed,) but was melt-in-your-mouth tender, and fork shreddable. The starch from the potatoes and the gelatin from slow cooking the meat caused the stew to be thick, and rich, without having to add any cornstarch. Since I was leaving town the following evening, I brought the leftovers to work so they wouldn't spoil in the fridge, and my co-workers all raved about how good this stew was. The only things I added were 2 bay leaves and about a tablespoon of Italian seasoning. The rest I followed. This recipe is certainly a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States