Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good. I used beef broth instead of the burgundy wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I use beef broth instead of onion soup mix and it is scrumptious! I prefer shiitake mushrooms though as I like their more earthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I don't always follow a recipe word for word but I did this one and it was very bland and not great by any stretch. The meat was very tender and that is sometimes "tough" to do with stew meat but otherwise it wasn't a meal I could be proud of. Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I love this stew!! I make it almost exactly as written except for adding some garlic powder and pepper to the flour. fills my crock pot and then I freeze individual servings for lunches! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Best stew I ever had! In my boyfriend's words: "You can serve this to people". He even had seconds and does not really like stew. I did add a large can of diced tomatoes and subbed yams and celery for the potatoes and the mushrooms (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Followed recipe exact but did not add mushrooms.The stew was good before adding the water/corn starch in the end. Made it WAY to thick, my husband and son wouldnt even eat it. I added more water and that helped but i dont think we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I'm only giving it 4* because I did alter it a bit, so I didn't want to deceive other cooks. That's why I love this site so much - it gives me a running start on a recipe and then I can make it my "own" ! We all have different tastes and ways of cooking so these recipes can help inspire us and come up with a dish that is pleasing. I added a bit of celery browned after the beef and eliminated the potatoes because I made mashed to serve the stew over. I didn't seem to have to thicken the stew so didn't use the cornstarch either. The results (for us) - a DEEELICIOUS meal. I had a person visiting who doesn't like tomatoes so I looked for a recipe that didn't have tomatoes included. I LOVE THIS SITE - thanks for so many inspiring recipes !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
AWESOME, DONT CHANGE A THING.MAKE IT JUST THE WAY IT SAYS,THE BEST BEEF STEW I EVER MADE AND TASTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Excellent recipe... added some celery and a Bay Leaf.... almost didn't need to thicken it... Very good with crunchy French bread on the side...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJOY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Yes, it's good - but that much better than any other beef stew? Not sure about that. I still think it could use a bit more seasoning. I took tips from some of the other reviewers and skipped a few of the 'extra' steps like boiling the water, and I omitted the mushrooms because they're an instant turn-off for my kids (threw in celery instead). Other than that, I followed the recipe pretty closely - and it definitely does take longer to get into the the crockpot than similar recipes. All that being said, I'll still give it 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States