Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
best stew i've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Huge hit with the fam. Prep time not too bad. Steps easy to follow and process moves along quickly! Taste is outstanding as is texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Best stew I ever made, made exactly as stated but next time would cut amount of carrots in half and add 3 stalks of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I used a mixture of veneson and beef stew meat. I also added fresh thyme, rosemary, and sage. I used about 1/2 bottle of red wine. Instead of quarted onions, I used pearl onions instead. Also per other reviews that I read, I did not add the cornstarch at the end. Everything else I kept the same. All of my family really enjoyed this dinner except my five year old, but he doesn't like much. I am now using the left over meat and broth to boil eggnoodles. I tossed the left over potatoes and onions in fresh basil and dill with olive oil, parmesan cheese and sea salt...then into a hot oven and the carrots are cooked in a brown sugar/honey/butter reduction. Two great meals!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe! I made a few changes because I didn't have the ingredients. I used beef broth to replace the wine, and I didn't bother boiling the water as some other reviewers mentioned suggested. I chopped one onions instead of quartering threes because I like my onions. I used soy sauce in place of Worchestire sauce since I didn't have any one hand. The stew turned out flavorful and rich; mushrooms are a wonderful addition. The fiance loved it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Norman-Dao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Only stew i will eat I hated beef stew as a kid no matter who made it I was very reluctant to try this but im so glad i did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I have made this twice now and enjoyed the flavor both times. The first time I just threw everything into the crock pot. I added a little more burgundy wine because I like the flavor. I thought it turned out fine without the pre-bagging in flour etc. Plus, I never had to add the cornstarch because I didn't add the 2 cups of boiling water, plus my meat was still partially frozen and I figured the moisture from there would make up for the lack of adding water. I love mushrooms and onions so the amount for me was great. You just add to your preference, it wont change the flavor of the meat. I also added a few bay leaves like other viewers had suggested. Give it try, make it your own, but the stew is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaris1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Good but a bit too salty for our taste. I will eliminate the last step to thicken next time. It made it a bit too thick and didn't look very appetizing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Excellent! I have never made beef stew before and it turned out so good. My daughter said "amazing"!! I added celery and two cans of beef broth, used only one pack of Lipton and no mushrooms. It really was great! I used burgundy 'cooking' wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is some really good beef stew!! I like how everything is sauteed a little before being put in the slow cooker. It really brings the flavor out. My whole family ate this all up with no complaints!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States