Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I've been a user of this site for years and have never left feedback. OMG this is the best stew I've ever had. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Loved this! The reason I only gave it 4 starts is because its a lot of prep for a beef stew but,....its the most flavorful beef stew we ever had! Delicious! The stew meat melts in your mouth!. Thank you for sharing this Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Awesome recipe! Substituted a few things: used 1 onion soup mix & 1 vegetable soup mix, baby potatoes and added fresh green peppers. I love mushrooms but I didn't have any on hand. Recipe was D-LISH! Great Sunday dinner went well with a side of Basmati rice, even the picky kids had a 2nd serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have a lot of beef stew recipes but this is the best one I've ever tried. I had to adjust the ingredients because I live alone but I want to freeze some of the stew in vacuum seal bags to take in my RV. It was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
All this work, and then use powdered onion soup? Why? Just a little more seasoning would be better -- the recipe would probably be fine by just omitting the powdered onion soup.. As a newbie com, I'll admit to using powdered and canned seasonings, but I don't need or want them now....Chef John's recipe is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is a winner! Except for there not being any bacon or salt-pork, it would be called 'boeuf burguigon' (Julia Child would approve)! What I did differently is: no Crockpot in my kitchen large enough for this recipe! I went on-line and found the temps for a Crockpot on high and low and translated it so I could use my oven and a large enameled casserole pot with cover. I also added about 3 tablespoons of catsup but otherwise the ingredients were the same. My oven on 300 degrees took 2.75 hours to cook fork tender. I would adjust down to 275 degrees for a longer cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made this recipe the other day and it is really good. I didn't have any mushrooms or wine but it still came out great without them. It would probably have been even better if I had used at least the wine. Next time I make this, I will make it with the mushrooms and wine...and I will make it again. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and the stew was absolutely delicious. Meat was very tender and it was perfectly seasoned. Recipe will be added to our rotation. Thank you for the recipe. No more beef stew mixes for this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Missed a few steps as I don't believe they are necessary with a slow cooker. Browned meat well in the skillet with oil for additional flavor and added worcestershire sauce to directly to crockpot, also though I cooked the onion with garlic in the skillet, I added the mushrooms and wine directly to slow cooker. I also added a diced turnip to the mix just because I like them in stews. I used only 1 package of soup mix with a cup of water and 1 can of beef broth to constitute the liquid. Turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made a few changes - but probably would have given 5 stars even if I hadn't!! I used Beef Broth - pinch of Allspice - 1 Bay Leaf and instead of wine I use a good Red Wine Vinegar. I made double the recipe using two crock pots and gave it to my neighbor and daughter and kept some for me and my hubby. Everyone Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States