Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious. This recipe is a "keeper." I made one half the recipe as I do not have a large slow cooker. Thank you Heather G for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Cartwright Cawthra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I cut this recipe in half (for my smaller family) and used vegetable stock (homemade this time) instead of the wine. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The best stew I ever made..McCormick Beef stew seasoning mix packet in place of one of the onion soup packets and cooked it on high for 2 hours and low for 2 1/2 hours due to time constraints and it was fork tender, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I have this recipe in my crockpot at the minute and it smells AMAZING! All I have left to do is thicken it up. I made this slightly differently by combining a few steps to make things a tad easier. I tossed the onion in with the potatoes and carrots. I also added a can of drained diced tomatoes and added a pinch of nutmeg. I added basic seasonings to the flour mixture I shook the meat in, i.e: garlic, black pepper, etc. I did not have fresh muchrooms, so I used a can of drained mushrooms and sauteed them with the minced garlic and the wine. Near the end of cooking I added about 1 to 2 cups of frozen peas. I am going to serve this with homemade rosemary bread on the side. A perfect fall dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was the best beef stew recipe I've used! It was definitely thick and hearty enough for my hubby, and the kids loved it, too. The only things I did differently were slice the onions into wide slices instead of quarters, and left out the mushrooms because we don't like them. I poured the wine directly into the crock pot. This was fantastic, and we will be having it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASVEGAZZZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I've tried many different styles of "Beef Stew" but this one by far has turned out to be one of my favorites...EVERYONE loved this and the flavor was wonderful. Not to mention the SMELL while it was cooking on a CHILLY Sunday. The hubby couldn't get enough of the stew! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaDukes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I added apple cider to the broth and BAM! Kicked it up a notch ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this yesterday afternoon and it tasted good when I stuck my spoon it. Today when I heated it back up to serve it, I added an extra splash of wine. It tasted even better today. I made half of the recipe for three of us. We had an unexpected guest and it is gone! We ate every drop of it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Neither my hubs or I cared for this at all (sorry!). Admittedly, I was quite surprised that this tasted NOTHING like IAMROSIE's slow cooker beef stew (which I LOVE!!!). Other than the addition of W sauce, garlic and mushrooms, a few subtle measurement differences and a slightly varied cook time, the two recipes are pretty much identical. IAMROSIE's stew is anything BUT bland, but this one left much to be desired. Another issue I couldn't get past was a textural one. Cooking on high the first hour and then on low for another 8 hours practically nuked my stew. :( My meat literally shredded (I prefer chunks of meat in my stew) and my veggies were REALLY soft. I think an hour on high and 6 hours on low would have been MORE than sufficient - and I'm regretting that I didn't error on the shorter end of the suggested cooking timeframe. NOTE #1: Unless you like LARGE chunks of onion in your stew, roughly chop them. Keep in mind that you'll likely want to cut back by HALF if you do so (unless you want to taste onion in EVERY bite!). One final observation.... I halved this recipe and nearly filled my 5 qt. slow cooker (ikes!). Unless you have a crowd to feed, a SUPER large slow cooker or want days worth of leftovers, a half batch is PLENTY sufficient! Serving our stew in Panera sourdough bread bowls was the highlight of our meal. This may be a winner for your family, but it wasn't for ours. Thanks anyways, Heather. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States