Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Only stew i will eat I hated beef stew as a kid no matter who made it I was very reluctant to try this but im so glad i did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I have made this twice now and enjoyed the flavor both times. The first time I just threw everything into the crock pot. I added a little more burgundy wine because I like the flavor. I thought it turned out fine without the pre-bagging in flour etc. Plus, I never had to add the cornstarch because I didn't add the 2 cups of boiling water, plus my meat was still partially frozen and I figured the moisture from there would make up for the lack of adding water. I love mushrooms and onions so the amount for me was great. You just add to your preference, it wont change the flavor of the meat. I also added a few bay leaves like other viewers had suggested. Give it try, make it your own, but the stew is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaris1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Good but a bit too salty for our taste. I will eliminate the last step to thicken next time. It made it a bit too thick and didn't look very appetizing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Excellent! I have never made beef stew before and it turned out so good. My daughter said "amazing"!! I added celery and two cans of beef broth, used only one pack of Lipton and no mushrooms. It really was great! I used burgundy 'cooking' wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is some really good beef stew!! I like how everything is sauteed a little before being put in the slow cooker. It really brings the flavor out. My whole family ate this all up with no complaints!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Awesome recipe! Thank you for sharing. I've made this several times and it never fails to taste wonderful and meat always comes out so tender, it melts in your mouth. I followed other reviewers and cut the meat down to 2lbs meat, 1 pk onion soup mix. marinated the meat in beef broth and onion soup mix overnight THEN put meat in flour mix (flour, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, pepper and salt). and browned on all sides. The meat always comes out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Westlake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was absolutely delicious!!! The only difference is that I added more liquid because I like for there to be plenty of broth. Also, I skipped the cornstarch step. It wasn't thick on its own - but it was a consistency that I like for beef stew. My husband and I couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I've tried this recipe many times with all sorts of variations but it always manages to be either too salty or bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I have finally stopped looking for a stew recipe! We love this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good. I used beef broth instead of the burgundy wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States