Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this yesterday afternoon and it tasted good when I stuck my spoon it. Today when I heated it back up to serve it, I added an extra splash of wine. It tasted even better today. I made half of the recipe for three of us. We had an unexpected guest and it is gone! We ate every drop of it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Neither my hubs or I cared for this at all (sorry!). Admittedly, I was quite surprised that this tasted NOTHING like IAMROSIE's slow cooker beef stew (which I LOVE!!!). Other than the addition of W sauce, garlic and mushrooms, a few subtle measurement differences and a slightly varied cook time, the two recipes are pretty much identical. IAMROSIE's stew is anything BUT bland, but this one left much to be desired. Another issue I couldn't get past was a textural one. Cooking on high the first hour and then on low for another 8 hours practically nuked my stew. :( My meat literally shredded (I prefer chunks of meat in my stew) and my veggies were REALLY soft. I think an hour on high and 6 hours on low would have been MORE than sufficient - and I'm regretting that I didn't error on the shorter end of the suggested cooking timeframe. NOTE #1: Unless you like LARGE chunks of onion in your stew, roughly chop them. Keep in mind that you'll likely want to cut back by HALF if you do so (unless you want to taste onion in EVERY bite!). One final observation.... I halved this recipe and nearly filled my 5 qt. slow cooker (ikes!). Unless you have a crowd to feed, a SUPER large slow cooker or want days worth of leftovers, a half batch is PLENTY sufficient! Serving our stew in Panera sourdough bread bowls was the highlight of our meal. This may be a winner for your family, but it wasn't for ours. Thanks anyways, Heather. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
best stew i've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Huge hit with the fam. Prep time not too bad. Steps easy to follow and process moves along quickly! Taste is outstanding as is texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Best stew I ever made, made exactly as stated but next time would cut amount of carrots in half and add 3 stalks of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I used a mixture of veneson and beef stew meat. I also added fresh thyme, rosemary, and sage. I used about 1/2 bottle of red wine. Instead of quarted onions, I used pearl onions instead. Also per other reviews that I read, I did not add the cornstarch at the end. Everything else I kept the same. All of my family really enjoyed this dinner except my five year old, but he doesn't like much. I am now using the left over meat and broth to boil eggnoodles. I tossed the left over potatoes and onions in fresh basil and dill with olive oil, parmesan cheese and sea salt...then into a hot oven and the carrots are cooked in a brown sugar/honey/butter reduction. Two great meals!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLEHNIG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe! I made a few changes because I didn't have the ingredients. I used beef broth to replace the wine, and I didn't bother boiling the water as some other reviewers mentioned suggested. I chopped one onions instead of quartering threes because I like my onions. I used soy sauce in place of Worchestire sauce since I didn't have any one hand. The stew turned out flavorful and rich; mushrooms are a wonderful addition. The fiance loved it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Only stew i will eat I hated beef stew as a kid no matter who made it I was very reluctant to try this but im so glad i did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I have made this twice now and enjoyed the flavor both times. The first time I just threw everything into the crock pot. I added a little more burgundy wine because I like the flavor. I thought it turned out fine without the pre-bagging in flour etc. Plus, I never had to add the cornstarch because I didn't add the 2 cups of boiling water, plus my meat was still partially frozen and I figured the moisture from there would make up for the lack of adding water. I love mushrooms and onions so the amount for me was great. You just add to your preference, it wont change the flavor of the meat. I also added a few bay leaves like other viewers had suggested. Give it try, make it your own, but the stew is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaris1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States