Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was delicious. I personally like more vegetables and less salty soups, so next time, I will just add one packet of french onion soup mix and add additional herbs (not including salt). I'll also add morevegetables-probably carrots, corn and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Whoa, baby, this is the one! While my family loves any sort of beef stew, I'm not usually a fan ... except for "Kyle"s Favorite." Delicious, exquisite, I can eat this for breakfast. I halved the recipe, used fresh parsley and per another reviewer's idea, used canned beef broth instead of water, a pinch of allspice and some bay leaves. This is simply heaven in a crockpot. Thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I followed this recipe with a venison roast. Boy, was this good! My family loved the flavor. Absolutely the best stew I've ever made. Thanks for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I usually try to make a recipe exactly as stated, then with my own tweaks before making a review, but for this recipe it wasn't the case. I had all the ingredients on hand except for the wine and mushrooms (with the addition of celery that needed to be used), so I thought this was the base recipe for me. It turned out very bland. I ended up going to the store for the McCormick beef stew spice blend, while also adding some tomato paste, soy sauce and seasoning salt towards the end. I give this two stars for the cooking method, but the flavoring wasn't right for us personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
LOVED this! So nice and yummy on the cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe written as is, however I would recommend dicing the onion instead of quartering. I've tried with a few altercations such using chicken breast cut into cubes & adding parsnips and peas. It makes a WONDERFUL chicken stew. For chicken I use a chardonnay and for beef a pinot noir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snsyum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is the best beef stew I have ever made, and possibly the best stew I have ever tasted. However, this is not a recipe where you throw everything into the crock pot and go to work. There's no way this needs only 30 minutes preparation time. I'll admit I'm a klutz in the kitchen, but it took me 1 1/2 hours. The veggies need to be cut up. Brown the beef, "soften" the onions and garlic, cook the mushrooms "until they absorb the wine". How long is that? It didn't look any different after 10 minutes. I realize we shouldn’t rate these recipes when we have “tweaked” them, but I tweaked, and here's how. First of all I omitted the onion soup because I am allergic to MSG, and EVERY dry mix on the market, as well as EVERY canned soup and broth, contain MSG, even those that say, “No MSG.” Those of us who are allergic to MSG know that “yeast extract,” and “autolyzed” or “hydrolyzed” anything are MSG with a different name. I had a cup of home-made beef broth in the freezer and I used that plus an additional cup of water. Is Worcestershire sauce a magic ingredient? I added 1 cup celery, used 16 oz. mushrooms, and used cooking wine instead of the “good stuff.” I’d like to use the good stuff, but I don’t drink wine, so how do you keep corked wine after it’s opened? It wasn’t real juicy, so I didn’t bother to thicken the gravy. I’m thrilled with this recipe and thank you, Heather, for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
We had this beef stew for supper tonight. I didn't' have any mushrooms, and I used sherry. It was a huge hit. I'll definitely make it Gain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I found this recipe because my husband does not like tomato based stews. This was a great recipe and the family loved it. I agree with other reviewers that it is a little labor intensive for your typical crockpot meal. However, I do believe some of the steps, such as the sautéed the onion and garlic in butter gives it an added depth of flavor. As with all recipes you adjust them to your personal style and likes. I would agree adding beef broth is a great change. The Worcestershire, wine, soup mix, should not be left out, this is what makes it different from the vast majority of stew recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I've tried many Beef Stew recipes, bu tthis is the BEST! My family literally begs for it on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States