Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My family loved this. I halved the recipe and didn't use the wine or mushrooms. Making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Delicious! Even better the second day as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
5 stars for deliciousness, this is one of the best beef stews I have ever made. Minus 1 invisible star because this recipe does not take 30 minutes. If you notice, most of the ingredients listed are already pre-prepped. To actually make this recipe (including all the chopping and cooking), it takes me about 2 hours. No joke. Worth it, but be ready to set aside a fair amount of time for all this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was quite good. For my small family, I made 1/2 of the recipe and served it over rice, which fed us generously with leftovers. I didn't have the right kind of wine, so I deglazed the pan I browned the beef in with dry sherry and added that to the crock pot, and used beef broth in place of some of the water. Next time, I'll add frozen peas at the end of the cooking time to add a little green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
3 stars as this was good, but not great. I followed the prep directions pretty closely except I used the beef-onion flavor dry soup mix instead of the regular dry onion soup mix. I also added 1/3 cup tomato paste at the end as it was and a bit 'stodgy' and needed some acid to balance and brighten the flavors. I stirred in some frozen peas at the end for color. I agree with some of the other reviewers that there are some unnecessary steps you can eliminate, such as adding the soup mix to boiling water first. I might even skip sauteing the onions and mushrooms and just put them straight into the pot. Note: this took only 4 hours to fully cook after setting the crock pot to low. Once finished there was a lot of liquid. I would add less water next time and only add more as needed. I would also stir in some fresh parsley at the end of cooking to freshen up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I will cut back by 1/2 of the onion soup mix. Omit the mushrooms & wine, replace wine with beef broth. Add celery & use whole baby potatoes & whole baby carrots, only use 1/2 c onion chopped in cm pieces. I will make this again, with my changes & might try with non alcoholic wine sometime but not mushrooms, Ive never had stew with mushrooms & dont plan to start. I just changed this up a bit to what my vision of the perfect beef stew is. soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
My family loves this recipe. My Granddaughter can't get enough. It is by far the best beef stew recipes I have ever tried. The only change I make is I use pearl onions instead of large onions. I also make buttermilk biscuits to serve with it. Delicious Meal. Such a wonderful hearty meal to come home to on a cold winters night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaBaby
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have made this twice. The first time my only modification was to use reduced sodium beef broth and use only 1 packet of onion soup mix to further reduce the amount of salt. The end result was still too salty for my husband & I, and was also thicker than we prefer. But the taste was great! For the second preparation, I used broth without salt, 1 packet soup mix, and kept the salt for the meat as directed. Salt may be added as desired prior to thickening. I increased the broth by about half the original amount and removed the crockpot lid for the last 30 minutes rather than thickening. This left a nice gravy on the meat and vegetables. I also added about 2 tsp paprika to the flour mixture. The end result...a delicious stew that will be my only recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Made this today and cooked it all day on High in the Crock Pot. Meat came out "spoon tender!" I actually used a Sam's Club huge thing of stew meat (4+ lbs.)and made two Crock Pots worth "sort of" doubling the recipe. Gave the 2nd Crock Pot to a friend to take home to feed her family! Very Good Stew. Used some open Merlot for the wine in the mushrooms - worked great! Very versatile recipe and I am adding it to my Recipe Box! I didn't do the cornstarch step at the end. The potatoes had thickened it enough that I didn't feel like it was needed! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States