Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
The whole family loved this! I skipped dredging meat in flour, I skipped butter while cooking the onions/garlic (I just put them back in the pan the meat was in, no need for butter) and I skipped the corn starch. It will definitely be seen in our house again. THanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a terrific "fancy" stew recipe. Much more complex in labor and flavors than run of the mill standard beef stews. I do agree with another reviewer who said some of the steps aren't really necessary, so do what works best for you. I don't buy onion soup mix as a rule, so I just made my own seasoned dried onion mixture using dried minced onion, celery seed, chives, parsley, beef bouillon granules, onion powder and garlic powder. I did go a little heavy on the pepper so it was a bit spicy for my family but that was this cook's error. Overall the recipe was incredible and I will definitely make it again. Kyle has great taste and has a great mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Tasted great but too many steps for slow cooker meal. I added veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This stew has a great flavor. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe except I didn't have red wine in the house (I know shocking...) so I used 1/8th cup of balsamic vinegar (with truffle oil), canned mushrooms (no fresh on hand), one pack of onion soup mix (all I had) and added some beef bouillon. Also I didn't need to thicken it at the end. Rather than use a slow-cooker, since I started about 12:30 p.m., I used my pressure cooker. We were eating by 2:00 p.m. I pressure cooked it 45 minutes - 30 min would have been enough. I think the ingredients are great, but I think the technique can be simplified. Save some time, just brown your beef (important step), sauté your garlic, onions (if you want, or throw in pot) and fresh mushrooms in the same pan right afterwards (skip the added butter, use the wine here if you want or just put it in the pot), and then mix everything in your slow cooker or pressure cooker, depending on your time constraints. Pressure cooking makes this a week-night meal. Very tasty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
LOVED at and so did my family. Just added a bit more corn starch and didnt have mushrooms so added chopped celery. Best I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This stew was phenomenal! I've tried a few stew recipes in the past and they all seemed to come up short in the flavor department except for this one. I made it tonight for my family and they loved it! I didn't make any changes to this recipe only one addition.........1 1/2 teaspoons of salt, that's it! And the only reason why I added the extra salt was to flavor the potatoes. In my opinion, potatoes need salt. Great recipe just as it is (with the addition of salt). This has become our go to stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a great beef stew. After about 5 hours in the crock pot (you need a really nice sized crock pot because it makes alot) I tasted it for flavoring...decided it needed a little something added. So, I added a can of Rotel tomatoes, can of beef consomme', a nice dash of garlic salt, about 1/4 cup of ketchup and THEN it all came together. Served it to company and they all loved it on a nice chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I thought this was amazing. I did make a few changes, but they are minor and are as follows: I only used 1.5 pounds of beef stew meat and made up for that by using one extra potato and a pound of frozen peas. I used medium white mushrooms quartered instead of the button mushrooms. Other than that I stuck to the recipe. I think that it was a little labor intensive where it probably doesn't need to be...I will probably be lazy next time I make it. All in all this is a very tasty dish and reheats well. For dinner last night I had two bowls of it followed by another bowl reheated right before bed. Today for lunch at work, i had a small bowl of it with some ciabatta bread for dipping. Very tasty...and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Ridiculously amazing beef stew! I used a claret for the wine. This dish was incredibly popular at our Christmas dinner with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States