Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and the stew was absolutely delicious. Meat was very tender and it was perfectly seasoned. Recipe will be added to our rotation. Thank you for the recipe. No more beef stew mixes for this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Missed a few steps as I don't believe they are necessary with a slow cooker. Browned meat well in the skillet with oil for additional flavor and added worcestershire sauce to directly to crockpot, also though I cooked the onion with garlic in the skillet, I added the mushrooms and wine directly to slow cooker. I also added a diced turnip to the mix just because I like them in stews. I used only 1 package of soup mix with a cup of water and 1 can of beef broth to constitute the liquid. Turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made a few changes - but probably would have given 5 stars even if I hadn't!! I used Beef Broth - pinch of Allspice - 1 Bay Leaf and instead of wine I use a good Red Wine Vinegar. I made double the recipe using two crock pots and gave it to my neighbor and daughter and kept some for me and my hubby. Everyone Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cslomot
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was delicious. I added more wine than called for - used some to deglaze the pan after searing the beef, before cooking the onions. I added two bay leaves and also added a can of beef broth in the first hour because it didn't seem like there was enough liquid. It needed some salt at the end before serving, but it was delicious and perfect for a rainy Saturday in autumn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Way too much work ahead of time - takes away from using the slowcooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Loved it but added marsala instead of burgandy wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I hated stew....until now!!! This is incredible! I added a bit more wine because I love the flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Great recipe - hearty flavor! I used a mushroom/onion soup mix in place of the onion mix, added a tablespoon of steak sauce, and a teaspoon of fennel seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I left the mushrooms out and doubled the amount of wine. :). Hubby loved it. Next time I'd only use one package of onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
very good I did not put wine in it and I added more veg. corn and cut beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States