Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I really hate cooking yet I found this recipe easy to use and it came out delish!! Instead of carrots I used sliced mushrooms and mmmm was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is now my favorite beef stew as well! Well worth the extra effort! I left out the potatoes and didn't bother thickening it up at the end because I added dumplings during the last 30 minutes of cooking. Kept all the other steps and ingredients the same. Everyone raved about this stew! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Almost a gourmet beef stew...a good Burgundy added makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe was nice and easy and tasted delicious. I made the recipe exactly as instructed with one small change: instead of water I mixed beef broth with the onion soup packets. My family enjoyed it too. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this as written except used Lipton Beef and Onion soup instead of just onion. Thickened up perfect and I thought the meat to veggie ratio was perfect. My hubby doesn't care for stew much but will eat anything with lots of meat in it. Ha! Next time I make this I will probably add some thyme & basi just to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Okay, this isn't even out of the oven yet but I have tasted it and it is divine! Having never made beef stew I was not anticipating great sucess the first time around but this recipe is the bomb! I followed it exactly except that the store was out of onion soup mix (?) so I substituted a packet of McCormick Beef Stew seasoning. Everything else I followed. I could not get this all into the crock pot so I had to transfer to my roasting pan and I cooked it all day at 230 degrees. Let me tell you , the house smells sooo good! I personally liked the flavor better before adding the wine, but it still is very, very good. I also find it to be a bit peppery but again, that's just personal taste and it does not detract overall from the stew's flavor. I think I am going to add some peas as well. I can tell already that I will make this time and again. Thanks for sharing this wonderful 'comfort' food recipe. Now, time to pop the french bread into the oven.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't follow this recipe exactly (bad at following directions!), used more or less of some ingredients and added celery, but it turned out delicious! Favorite stew so far :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'm not sure why some people thought this was bland. Everyone in my family, which includes 6 kids, loved it. I made very few changes to the recipe. Maybe more quality ingredients or type of onion, soup mix, wocestershire sauce, etc makes a difference? Only thing I would change next time is more carrots. The changes I made this time were slight and just a personal preference. I added a bay leaf in with boiling water and soup mix and then left it in the crock pot while it cooked. I used mini bella mushrooms because my store didn't have button mushrooms. Lastly, I used a sweet, soft red wine because that's what I keep on hand to drink. Delicious and will make again for sure! Would be great over mashed potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Photo by Vaneese
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The thickness of this stew is great. However, as written, the recipe is very bland. There is also a lack of vegetables but they can easily be added if that is your taste. I'm glad that I had beef stew mix on hand and a great deal of seasonings :/. This recipe is just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vaneese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe started as a disaster, but turned out fantastic! My fault, i made the rookie mistake of not reading the recipe before diving in. I did not realize all the steps involved so did not prep everything beforehand like i should have. I also left the strap that prevents the top from rattling under the pot itself, where it melted and filled the house with the aroma of melted plastic. Then after browning the meat there was a solid layer of beef/flour tastiness that i was pretty sure would never come off the bottom of my fav stainless steel pan. However once i deglazed the pan with wine for the mushrooms it was presto! clean. Once i got everything in the crockpot my stress level decreased and soon the house smelled great, like beef not plastic. The only changes i made was to add 2 large unseeded jalapenos, diced, to the onions and garlic, and beef broth instead of water with the soup mix, although i did boil it over so it was not quite 2 cups. Also used baby portabella. Cooked for hr on high then 6 on low, put it in the fridge overnight since it finished at about 9:30 at night. So yummy the next day for lunch! Not my most stellar day in the kitchen, but it all turned out great and is some of the best beef stew i've ever had! Definitely a keeper, and next time i won't be such a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States