Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I left the mushrooms out and doubled the amount of wine. :). Hubby loved it. Next time I'd only use one package of onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
very good I did not put wine in it and I added more veg. corn and cut beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Great stew recipe. I've made it around 5 times pretty much just as written and it is perfect. We purchase a quarter of a cow every spring and by time of year I'm left with a bunch of random roasts. I cut them into stew meat and make this great stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My family loved this. I halved the recipe and didn't use the wine or mushrooms. Making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Delicious! Even better the second day as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
5 stars for deliciousness, this is one of the best beef stews I have ever made. Minus 1 invisible star because this recipe does not take 30 minutes. If you notice, most of the ingredients listed are already pre-prepped. To actually make this recipe (including all the chopping and cooking), it takes me about 2 hours. No joke. Worth it, but be ready to set aside a fair amount of time for all this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was quite good. For my small family, I made 1/2 of the recipe and served it over rice, which fed us generously with leftovers. I didn't have the right kind of wine, so I deglazed the pan I browned the beef in with dry sherry and added that to the crock pot, and used beef broth in place of some of the water. Next time, I'll add frozen peas at the end of the cooking time to add a little green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
3 stars as this was good, but not great. I followed the prep directions pretty closely except I used the beef-onion flavor dry soup mix instead of the regular dry onion soup mix. I also added 1/3 cup tomato paste at the end as it was and a bit 'stodgy' and needed some acid to balance and brighten the flavors. I stirred in some frozen peas at the end for color. I agree with some of the other reviewers that there are some unnecessary steps you can eliminate, such as adding the soup mix to boiling water first. I might even skip sauteing the onions and mushrooms and just put them straight into the pot. Note: this took only 4 hours to fully cook after setting the crock pot to low. Once finished there was a lot of liquid. I would add less water next time and only add more as needed. I would also stir in some fresh parsley at the end of cooking to freshen up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States