Kung Wow Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Chef John has delivered us another great recipe! Delicious! I was all out of wine so I subbed beer* for the wine in the recipe and it was still awesome. I used 1 cup zucchini, 1 cup broccoli and ½ cup yellow onion in favor of using the red bell pepper. Chef John said to use any veggie of your choice. I omitted the jalapeno pepper because I didn’t want it to be too spicy hot for my guests. I doubled the sauce, except I decreased the chili paste to 1½ Tbsp and the brown sugar** to just 1Tbsp. I served it over steamed brown rice and it was an incredible meal. Everyone loved it. Thanks Chef John!!! * Beer, (Bud, Coors or Miller), always works as a nice substitute for white wine in any recipe. ** Even 1 Tbsp brown sugar is almost too sweet for this recipe. I recommend using less brown sugar unless you love the sweetness of Orange Chicken and Sesame Chicken entrées.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this last night for dinner and OH MAN was it good...my husband said it was better than Panda. I made it following every step except i used red wine vinegar in place of the white because i simply didn't have any. Other than that it was awesome!! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
The only thing missing from the directions for this recipe is the need for a prep chef. I want someone else to measure out everything and chop all the vegetables and put it all in nice little ramekins so I can swoop in and put this dish together! It was quite good, but I think there are lots of other recipes for Asian cuisine that taste just as good but are less involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great recipe. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs. I believe that they have more flavor and are less dry, and cheaper than chicken breasts. I also added 1 star anise after the vegetables and the more complex flavor it added was great. I definetly will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
My family loved this! I didn't have zucchini, so I added snow peas and celery and chopped fresh ginger with the garlic. Since I had 2 lbs of chicken, I doubled the recipe. I didn't use rice but chinese noodles. The recipe looks a little overwhelming with all the ingredients, but since I had most of the stuff (or if I didn't, it was easy to buy at the local grocery store) it really wasn't hard to make. My husband says it's definitely a "make again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great! I added an extra 1/2 chicken, doubled both the marinade and cooking sauce, and added carrots to the vegetables, and added baby corn, and water chestnuts the same time I added the cooking sauce. it was yummy. Would probably cut the chili paste back a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epicurious_11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fall Creek, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I found this do-able but there are quite a few ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lovejoy, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very easy. I'm a mid 20s bachelor with minimum cooking skills and I was able to make 8 servings under an hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
great recipe! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe and it turned out with an excess of liquid. Cornstarch did not thicken the sauce. It was very bland for the amount of ingredients required. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States