Kung Wow Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I was just ok with this dish, but my family really liked it, so I guess I have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Kung Pao chicken is my fav Chinese dish. This recipe was ok, but much sweeter than traditional Kung pao and much sweeter than I would have liked. I doubled the amount of the other sauce ingredients (except sugar) because my family really likes to soak the rice, and still found this way too sweet. The mix of veggies were really good, and they cooked up nicely. Overall, I would try this again and just cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this recipe and instantly (well, ok, after three portions) sent boyfriend into a food-coma. A big success! I didn't have peanuts so used cashews, and added some sugarsnaps. I also served over quinoa instead of rice, but I think all of these things do not make this dish any worse. I considered this very easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Made this last night and the whole family loved it! Followed the recipe exactly but used gluten-free soy sauce and chicken broth. Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Now my favorite at home Chinese chicken recipe. A lot of ingredients, but it was the best! I followed the recipe exactly the first time, but after that added green peppers as well as the red, which really added a lot. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I was really happy with this recipe. I made brown rice, next time I will go with white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Thank you Chef John! I watched the video how to make this recipe, followed the technique exactly, and came out with the BEST stirfry! I "Americanized" the recipe further and used Franks Hot Sauce instead of Asian chili paste, and used only canola oil, and omitted the peanuts. Was still delicious! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very easy. I'm a mid 20s bachelor with minimum cooking skills and I was able to make 8 servings under an hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I've made this recipe several times now, and served to a variety of people and it got rave reviews every single time. I follow the recipe quite closely, save for some minor adjustments. I don't consume alcohol so I substitute white wine in the marinade with white vinegar. In the sauce mixture, I use half the sugar and skip white wine altogether. Some people have said this is the best Asian-style chicken recipe they've ever tasted...so THANKS Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States