Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Overall an excellent recipe and just as good as any I have had in restaurants. There are several changes that I made which really improved the overall recipe. I added 1 onion chopped and half a broccoli stir fried them first with water chestnuts and also switched the chicken for pork tenderloin. I also found that the sauce recipe should be doubled. I also agree with other reviews that you should be careful with the amount of sesame seed oil used especially in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was pretty good! Both my husband and I enjoyed it. I wouldn't say it's exactly like what we get in restaurants, but definitely worth making at home. Like other's suggested, I tripled the sauce, probably could have gotten away with just doubling it. I didn't have time to marinate the chicken in the sauce, so just cooked up in the pan with the marinade, and added to the sauce. Beware of your sesame oil, the one we purchased had a very strong smoky flavor, or maybe they all have this, but I will try a different brand next time. I recommend and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Very good, but needed a LOT more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I thought this was pretty close to my favorite Chinese restaraunt. I have made it twice and both times my husband ate it. He's not a fan of any Asian cuisine. The recipe was easy to follow and requires few ingredients. When I search for recipes I look for recipes that do not require 20 ingredients that I'll never use again. This was perfect. The only thing I had to get that I don't usually have is the chile paste, but I will definitely keep it on hand now. The flavor and spice were perfectly balanced. The sauce was thick and I did add water and let simmer before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
excellent receipe -I doubled the sauce and added 3 green onions and made quiona instead of rice..lots of flavor!!! just as good as resturant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamara
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I used 3 chix breast And doubled the sauce ingredients except chile power and sesame oil. That yielded plenty of sauce.. Added red and some green bell peppers and a sparse amount of whole chile dried peppers chopped and seeded. Just for fun added a little chile powder and brown sugar to my peanuts before frying. I in the past have always bought my Kung pao sauce and it can be pricey .. My husband liked this as much as store bought.... Thanks allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. First, I tripled the marinade & sauce. There was way too much sesame oil flavor; also way too much cornstarch. If you use the amount it calls for (like I did), it ends up way too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I had to add about a cup of chicken broth to the mixture in the skillet in order to have a sauce. Mine was much too thick. I have not been able to locate hot chili paste, so substituted a healthy squirt of sriracha instead. I mistakenly put in 1 tablespoon (not teaspoon) of the vinegar (I used roasted garlic rice vinegar), so increased the brown sugar to a scant tablespoon. For the wine I used cooking sherry, which I had on hand. This was absolutely delicious. We ate it over orzo, though of course brown rice would be a healthier choice. This went straight to the top of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Very good dish. From other reviewers' comments I doubled the marinate and sauce. In fact, with the sauce, it was doubled and then I added extra water so there would be plenty and it was perfect. I didn't have hot chili paste so I made my own: I finely chopped 4 serrano chilies and sautéed in 1 tbsp. olive oil for 5 min. and added 1 minced garlic clove and simmered for 10 more min., stirring often on low heat. Remove from heat and add 1/2 tsp. vinegar. This makes enough for several batches of Kung Pao Chicken as I used just 2 tsp. of this for the sauce and labeled and froze the rest. My son, who is a captain in the Marines and loves spicy Asian food, was home for Christmas, and loved it. Thanks Arlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This tasted nothing like Kung Pao Chicken from a restaurant, but it's a pretty tasty dish in its own right. I doubled the amount of sauce and reduced the chile paste by 25%. Even with the reduction in chile paste, it still came out very spicy, so be careful if you don't like your food to be really spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudolf Felix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States