Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
great recipe for a starter i used Asian hot-sauce instead of paste because the local grocery didn't carry it definitely triple the marinade and sauce measurements i also add thinly sliced carrots and broccoli flowerettes stir fry carrots two minutes add broccoli two minutes more add chicken then follow the recipe if its too pastey for your liking just add some warm water as i did very tasty ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noturbone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
The sauce was great. Had a good kick to it, but wasn't too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out SO salty! I'm not sure if it was the soy sauce, garlic, or corn starch, but it was definitely overpowering. I added a few more generous pinches of brown sugar to balance it out, which helped, but I'm not sure if I would make this again. The sauce was nice and thick, and the recipe was very easy to follow, but it didn't blow me away. We used the leftover chicken on salads the next day and that was pretty good. All in all, a decent recipe for last minute ideas. Tip: add less cornstarch and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Did not look anything like the picture and had no spice too it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was fine, but I think I prefer my local delivery options for Kung Pao.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I wasn't sure whether to drain the water chestnuts or not. I really didn't want that liquid in my dish so I opted to drain and then loosen the sauce with another liquid. Anyway, we thoroughly enjoyed it and adding some cayenne strips (deseeded) was a real flavor booster too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
a dish enjoyed by the entire family but in need of some tweaks....the first thing i noted was that the sauce needed to be doubled or tripled. i also found that its better to use brown sugar instead of white because it shows up better in the flavor. and finally (this is just my opinion on what is correct) i would advise anyone who makes this dish to add in the sauce AFTER the chicken and vegetables have cooked through so that the sauce does not burn. serve with white or fried rice :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We LOVED this recipe! We used 1.25lbs of chicken so As the other reviewers suggested, I doubled the marinade. For the sauce, I tripled the wine, soy sauce, vinegar, sugar, and chopped 6 green onions. Kept the peanuts, water chestnuts, corn starch mix and garlic as the recipe recommends, used 3 tblspoons of the hot chili paste, and had to sub peanut oil for the sesame oil. Also, I sautéed the chicken and set aside, and then sautéed about 6 oz of sliced baby Bella mushrooms and then added the sauce to the pan. Once aromatic, I added the chicken back in and let simmer for 5 min or so and served it over white rice. An A+ recipe for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyknickerbocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe!!! only thing is I doubled up on the sauce, new favorite! Can compete with restaurant versions in quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook4fam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made this the first time as written and I did not like the result. There is too much cornstarch (the written amount makes the dish dry and pasty), too much sesame oil (it nearly overwhelms every other flavor) and not enough sauce overall. I made it a second time and I reduced the cornstarch by 1/2, reduced the sesame oil to 1 teaspoon in the sauce only (none in the marinade) and I doubled the sauce and also dissolved the cornstarch in 1/2 cup chicken broth instead of 2 tablespoons of water. It was much better the second time around but still not even remotely like PF Chang's, which is what I was going for. I will continue to try different Kung Pao Chicken recipes to find a really good one. This one will probably not be made again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States