Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Loved it! Only problem though was that there was definitely not enough sauce. I would probable either double the recipe's marinade and add water to fix that though. Also Instead of using white wine I used mirin that I had and it was a great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Delicious! I love Kung pao chicken! This recipe was excellent. I added an assortment of veggies that I needed to use that were already in the fridge. Mushrooms, cabbage and bell peppers. This is an easy staple that my husband loves for me to make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very delicious following exact directions. The only change I will make is using 1/2 the cornstarch as the sauce is a bit to thick. A favorite easy chinese dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Pretty good. I read through some of the reviews before making and decided to only use 1 Tbsp cornstarch (added it to the chicken marinade, without water, and didn't use anymore). I used rice wine (sake) instead of white wine. I also added some minced fresh ginger. I used peanut oil to brown the meat. I didn't have any green onions - but I did slice up a medium white onion and added that in after I had browned the chicken. I don't know how much an ounce of chili paste is - I used a Tablespoon of it. I marinated the chicken for about 30 mins, cooked my white rice, mixed my sauce ingredients and heated the peanut oil over medium high heat. Browned the chicken for about 5 mins in the peanut oil, then added the sliced onion and cooked that until soft. Added the sauce (without the other Tablespoon of cornstarch) and cooked for a minute, then added about a 1/3 c of peanuts and cooked for another 30 seconds. Served over white rice. Thanks for a great base - we will have this again as it was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
So happy to finally find a simple and delicious Kung Pao recipe. I've tried dozens of recipes over the years and was always disappointed. I follow this recipe exactly and it's great every time. The hot chile paste takes all those complicated and harder to find items typical to Kung Pao, and brings them together into one simple ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I tripled the recipe and added a bunch of stir-fry veggies. Tripled and served over rice, the recipe feeds 3-4 adults a good sized portion. I used arrowroot instead of cornstarch. Braggs instead of soy sauce. I also only had a little bit of sesame oil, so I added some sunflower oil to make up the difference. Extra peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
this recipe has ruined us for every chinese take out of Kung Pao. We always get Kung Pao when eating at a chinese restaurant (shrimp, chicken, tofu) and even in the high end, sit down, hot towel, type of restaurants it has NEVER compared to the perfection of this recipe I just made at home. OMG. I doubled the marinade, and the sauce (per other reviewers suggestions). I used chicken thighs (had it in the freezer). I also sauteed some celery and broccoli in some hot chili oil before adding the marinated chicken to saute. I also used whole peanuts instead of crushed (my favorite). I think next time I may back down a tad on the chili paste because it was pretty spicy - but I served it with a Virginia semi-sweet Rose wine and it was perfection. The hubby told me he had never had a better Kung Pao period. Can't wait to try it with Tofu or Shrimp next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as described. I even went out of my way to get those water chestnuts. It was disappointing. The chicken was bland, should keep it longer in the marinade. Also, the ratio of liquid to solids is way off. There is TOO much nuts rolling around and very LITTLE sauce to actually serve this with something like white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Wow! I did not expect this recipe to be so wonderful--it seemed too easy. I have made many versions of Kung Pao Chicken over the years. Usually the spice comes from dried red peppers. In this recipe, the red chili paste (I used a Thai red chili paste) gives the dish more depth. Based on other reviews, I did double the amount of sauce which I really liked but it was more of a personal preference. Best Kung Pao I have ever had or made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
The description is right in stating "you can't go wrong." The flavor of this is excellent. I attempted to increase the sauce by doubling all the sauce ingredients. So... I didn't actually "go wrong", but the end result was much too thick. Adding the water/starch mix should probably be done a Tbsp at a time. I'll be playing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States