Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Did not look anything like the picture and had no spice too it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was fine, but I think I prefer my local delivery options for Kung Pao.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I wasn't sure whether to drain the water chestnuts or not. I really didn't want that liquid in my dish so I opted to drain and then loosen the sauce with another liquid. Anyway, we thoroughly enjoyed it and adding some cayenne strips (deseeded) was a real flavor booster too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
a dish enjoyed by the entire family but in need of some tweaks....the first thing i noted was that the sauce needed to be doubled or tripled. i also found that its better to use brown sugar instead of white because it shows up better in the flavor. and finally (this is just my opinion on what is correct) i would advise anyone who makes this dish to add in the sauce AFTER the chicken and vegetables have cooked through so that the sauce does not burn. serve with white or fried rice :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We LOVED this recipe! We used 1.25lbs of chicken so As the other reviewers suggested, I doubled the marinade. For the sauce, I tripled the wine, soy sauce, vinegar, sugar, and chopped 6 green onions. Kept the peanuts, water chestnuts, corn starch mix and garlic as the recipe recommends, used 3 tblspoons of the hot chili paste, and had to sub peanut oil for the sesame oil. Also, I sautéed the chicken and set aside, and then sautéed about 6 oz of sliced baby Bella mushrooms and then added the sauce to the pan. Once aromatic, I added the chicken back in and let simmer for 5 min or so and served it over white rice. An A+ recipe for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyknickerbocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe!!! only thing is I doubled up on the sauce, new favorite! Can compete with restaurant versions in quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook4fam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made this the first time as written and I did not like the result. There is too much cornstarch (the written amount makes the dish dry and pasty), too much sesame oil (it nearly overwhelms every other flavor) and not enough sauce overall. I made it a second time and I reduced the cornstarch by 1/2, reduced the sesame oil to 1 teaspoon in the sauce only (none in the marinade) and I doubled the sauce and also dissolved the cornstarch in 1/2 cup chicken broth instead of 2 tablespoons of water. It was much better the second time around but still not even remotely like PF Chang's, which is what I was going for. I will continue to try different Kung Pao Chicken recipes to find a really good one. This one will probably not be made again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
chicken ccame out kinda plain. I added broccoli and it was good with the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hector Shlimovitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Very good! Took the advice of others and tripled everything. Made will try to cut down on the sesame oil next
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Good, fairly quick and simple. Will certainly keep this in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States