Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was extremely bland and lacked any heat or flavor. It got 2 stars because my husband was the one who cooked it; he swears he followed the recipe to the letter, but it was not good. I ended up eating just plain rice with soy sauce on it and pushed the chicken away. I might try it again just to satisfy myself that he made it correctly, but it was so bad, I might just skip it all together. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christopher Jakob
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The sauce quantity in my opinion is good for only one serving I made full sauce eith one cut chicken breast, and preferred it. Take note
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Jakob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very tasty but I did make a few modifications. As several reviews suggested, I doubled the sauce except for the green onions, peanuts and water chestnuts. I used the Splenda brown sugar (requires 1/2 the amount) Before I sautéed the chicken I sautéed eight dried red red chili peppers with most of the seeds removed. I wanted it a little spicy so I left some seeds. Finally, I added chopped zucchini just so I could call it healthy. It was delicious and my husband liked it as well. I will try it with shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe!!!!! It was my first attempt at cooking Chinese and I was worried it wouldn't be that tasty. WRONG. It was fantastic. I doubled the recipe because there are 5 of us and it was just enough. Next time I will triple the recipe and maybe add other veggies. Great recipe though and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I liked how it turned out. I had only added a bit of chilli Thai pepper sauce to the final dish. Stand alone, I would recommend it for simplicity sake. I added some extra veggies to bulk it up. 3.8/10 Would cook again to stretch a dollar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Mattila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We've been making this exact recipe for a few years now, it's no fail and so yummy. tastes so much like the GOOD Chinese restaurant kung pao. While I usually hate when people review even though they've changed every ingredient and cooking method and still think they can review the same recipe, I will just say the ONLY change we make in this recipe is using cashews instead of peanuts and sometimes I'll add a green pepper, chopped. Whether you make those small changes or follow this recipe to a T, this is a keeper for sure! And it's worth investing in the good sesame oil and chili paste--they will last you making this dish several times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I would recommend tripling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was so good! I made this last night and made a few adjustments based on others feedback. I used rice vinegar instead of wine, trippled the measurements for the sauce, and use teaspoons for the corn starch measurements instead of table spoons. I also added dried chilies. It was spicy and sweet and just yummy. Most Kung Pao dishes I have had are more savory than sweet but this one was more sweet which I liked. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This one was just OK. The leftovers are just sitting there and no one is jumping on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Really good. Loved the peanuts. Just would like more sauce to drizzle on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States