Kumquat Marmalade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Followed others advise and added less water and less sugar. I added the orange peel from only 1/4 orange finely julienned; I soaked all finely chopped fruit in water for about 1 hour. Added pectin and a bit of vanilla. It is DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used this recipe last night. I didn't get a marmalade that is a thick as I like. I did reduce the amount of sugar by a cup or two which may hav affected te gelling. & also used a 2/1 ratio w/ the fruit and water (instead of 3/1). If I were to make this again, I'd probably add pectin, & def wuduse a food processor to make sure the skins r finely chopped enough and to take the time to remove the pith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
is good. Reduced water from 3 cups to 2 to make sure there wasn't too much liquid in there. Also reduced sugar from 1 cup to 3/4 cup. Also added Habanero for a nice bite to the marmalade. Addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Neighbors gave me probably 20 kumquats. This was a great way to use them up, and I gave him a jar. This week, he brought me a bowl of 2-3 pounds of kumquats and an empty jar. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this today and since I tend to be impatient I didn't let the fruit soak. I only used enough water to just cover the top of the fruit in the pan and put it on to boil. I think all total boiling and simmering time was around two hours. It got up to 221F and gelled beautifully. Made some toast tonight and put it on it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love this recipe.... I do everything that it says..BUT I did add chopped cyrstalized giner and used a texas red grapfruit instead of orange. What a color!! This marmalade is great spread over Brie cheese. What a treat tohave this around all year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Thanks, I loved not having to mess with pectin. The consistency was just right without it. This is the perfect way to use the kumquats from our little tree. It produces just enough to make a delicious batch. I reduced the water by two cups, as others suggested, and reduced the sugar by a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Wonderful taste! I had planned to triple this recipe, so used 75 kumquats, 6 oranges and 6 lemons. I ended up with 8 cups fruit/water mixture, added 4 tbsp pectin, 2 tsp vanilla and the lemon juice from 6 lemons. The taste is wonderful! However this did not set up well. It's not runny but not set up. Next time I would add MUCH less water (probably 1 cup for 1 cup of fruit). And add more pectin, probalby 6 Tbsp. The taste is wonderful though. The vanilla really adds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I'd rate this higher if it were easier. Modified this to be done in less than an hour and added different flavors for different batches. I used 1 lb fruit, (de-seeded, then sliced in the food processor), 12 oz sugar and 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice. Stir then microwave on high 6 min. Stir then microwave 2 min, continue in 2 min bursts an additional 4 times (complete cooking 16 min). Add 2 Tbsp brandy, 2 Tbsp bourbon, or 2 tsp gaaram masala. Pour into pint jars. Super easy and pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I am not familiar with how to make marmalade and this recipe is a very poor description for a first timer. I read some of the other reviews and reduced the water by two cups and STILL was left with a watery mess at the end. Mine did not gel at all. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States