Kumquat Marmalade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Neighbors gave me probably 20 kumquats. This was a great way to use them up, and I gave him a jar. This week, he brought me a bowl of 2-3 pounds of kumquats and an empty jar. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wow. Loved this. I made sure the rind was soft before I went to the final step and added 1/2 package of Sure-Jell (I've never canned before and wanted to be sure it turned out) and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to make it Christmas-sy. Yummy. You made me a real grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Thanks, I loved not having to mess with pectin. The consistency was just right without it. This is the perfect way to use the kumquats from our little tree. It produces just enough to make a delicious batch. I reduced the water by two cups, as others suggested, and reduced the sugar by a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this today and since I tend to be impatient I didn't let the fruit soak. I only used enough water to just cover the top of the fruit in the pan and put it on to boil. I think all total boiling and simmering time was around two hours. It got up to 221F and gelled beautifully. Made some toast tonight and put it on it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Varnadoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This marmalade is so good!!! I made two batches in a month. I gave them to my friends and everyone just love the taste. I changed the recipe: I added orange without peel, used half splenda and half suger, processed through a blender and added a package of pectin for 6 cups of fruit mixture. The taste was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Everyone loved this marmalade. My mother-in-law loved it so much she asked for the recipe. I only let it soak for 2 hours. Maybe that's why mine came out a little liquidy. And I used a food processor to chop up the fruit. Made it so much easier and less chuckier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe. I made with Splenda since my husband is diabetic. Sliced kumquats and seeded. Cooked until I thought was ready and it turned out perfect. Today, I put kumquats in my Vita-Mix and pureed, added Splenda and lemon juice and cooked until I thought was ready - made really nice Kumquat Butter (like Apple Butter) Did not soak before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I have made this recipe every year for the last 6. After the first time, I reduced the water to 2 cups/cup of mixture. This improved the taste and consistency and reduced the boiling time. Every one who tastes it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Lovely taste. Now I have a was to use my Kumquats instead of just admiring them on the plant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
After reading all the reviews I realized that most people who tried this recipe suggested less sugar and water. I followed the advise, but also added very finely sliced strips of fresh ginger, which adds a zing to the marmalade. Great hit ! Try it with your holiday meats along with mustard too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States