Kumquat Marmalade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Based on the reviews, I made some slight changes and had great success. Note that I let the fruit soak for about 18 hours - only because some other things came up. I think this is one of the mysteries of the recipe. Since I had soaked it for so long, the peels were really soft, so I boiled for a shorter time. I think for the first boil, we need a time as that will seriously effect the amount of liquid. I did measure out 3 cups of fruit (I used a blender to chop) and added 7 cups of water instead of 9. I still added 9 cups of sugar. I added 1/2 cup lemon instead of 1/4 because it seemed so sweet. I did not add pectin. I boiled until 220, poured in jars, then processed to seal. My marmalade did gel - not completely like store bought, but enough to spread, and it tastes delicious. Next time I would take out another cup or 2 of water. I think I would like less sweet, but I know the amount of sugar effects the gelling. Maybe I would take out one orange and add more lemon juice? But you can definitely do this without pectin. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I have made this recipe every year for the last 6. After the first time, I reduced the water to 2 cups/cup of mixture. This improved the taste and consistency and reduced the boiling time. Every one who tastes it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I agtee with the first review and should have taken the advice to add pectin. I now have several jars of kumquat syrup. It tastes good but I am disappointed in myself for not going with my instincts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
As this is the first recipe that I have tried on your site it may be a bit forward of to ask if the amount of water added to the fruit is a bit excessive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe. I made with Splenda since my husband is diabetic. Sliced kumquats and seeded. Cooked until I thought was ready and it turned out perfect. Today, I put kumquats in my Vita-Mix and pureed, added Splenda and lemon juice and cooked until I thought was ready - made really nice Kumquat Butter (like Apple Butter) Did not soak before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Beautiful sparkling marmalade just like from the store. This recipe has 4 stars only for confusion because it made me nervous while making it. You could however go to the trouble to remove the peel from the quartered oranges, scrape off more of the white part, and then slice the peel with a knife, if you want to remove any bitter taste, but its good as is. Dont bother rechopping kumquats (just slice them on a mandolin). I wonder why it says to add water and soak overnighta step not called for in other recipes. I decided to add a packet of regular pectin as insurance on warning of another reviewer, at about 218 degrees (never could reach 220 degrees). Highly recommend the pectin; texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Everyone loved this marmalade. My mother-in-law loved it so much she asked for the recipe. I only let it soak for 2 hours. Maybe that's why mine came out a little liquidy. And I used a food processor to chop up the fruit. Made it so much easier and less chuckier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Good recipe, although make sure you slice the orange skin thinly or the marmalade gets clumpy...unless you like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States