Kumquat Marmalade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Good recipe, however I used Ruby Red grapefruit instead of the oranges. The taste was tart yet sweet, perfect for the holiday basket. I also used only 2 cups of water per 1 cup of fruit which I processed in a food processor. I will however use pectin next time due to the somewhat runny consistency. Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
i've made this several times, my marmalad is dark in color? i think i'm over cooking.. it takes so long for a jelling point...hours??? then is become a little more tart.. any help would be helpfull thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE AND ENDED UP WITH SYRUP. THE FLAVOR WAS GREAT. NEXT TIME I WILL DRAIN THE WATER AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS. I GAVE IT TWO STARS FOR FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Strathmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe. I reduced the water to about 2 1/2 cups per, and next time I'll take it down to 2 cups, as boiling time was unnecessarily long. Make sure to take it all the way up to 221 degrees! I canned mine in very small jars to give as gifts and so far the response has been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Just made this and it's better than perfect! Made a couple of alterations - only added 2 cups of water per cup of fruit. Also discarded skin on the oranges and used 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead of 1/4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
According to the previous comments, it seems like that the jam was cooked with water. The recipe should’ve mentioned, “Drain the water, then measure the fruit”. In addition, there’s no need in so much water for soaking, just 1.5-2 inches above the fruit is enough. Pectin is not essential either, the mixture jellifies beautifully when brought to 20 degrees F. Amount of sugar has to be equal to the amount of fruit and for more accurate results it’s better to use scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wow. Loved this. I made sure the rind was soft before I went to the final step and added 1/2 package of Sure-Jell (I've never canned before and wanted to be sure it turned out) and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to make it Christmas-sy. Yummy. You made me a real grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Lovely taste. Now I have a was to use my Kumquats instead of just admiring them on the plant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This marmalade is so good!!! I made two batches in a month. I gave them to my friends and everyone just love the taste. I changed the recipe: I added orange without peel, used half splenda and half suger, processed through a blender and added a package of pectin for 6 cups of fruit mixture. The taste was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Too runny and too sweet. I have made tons of jams and jellies. This is the first one I have made that has never set. This recipe needs measurement adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States