Kumquat Marmalade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this today and since I tend to be impatient I didn't let the fruit soak. I only used enough water to just cover the top of the fruit in the pan and put it on to boil. I think all total boiling and simmering time was around two hours. It got up to 221F and gelled beautifully. Made some toast tonight and put it on it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Varnadoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love this recipe.... I do everything that it says..BUT I did add chopped cyrstalized giner and used a texas red grapfruit instead of orange. What a color!! This marmalade is great spread over Brie cheese. What a treat tohave this around all year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Thanks, I loved not having to mess with pectin. The consistency was just right without it. This is the perfect way to use the kumquats from our little tree. It produces just enough to make a delicious batch. I reduced the water by two cups, as others suggested, and reduced the sugar by a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Wonderful taste! I had planned to triple this recipe, so used 75 kumquats, 6 oranges and 6 lemons. I ended up with 8 cups fruit/water mixture, added 4 tbsp pectin, 2 tsp vanilla and the lemon juice from 6 lemons. The taste is wonderful! However this did not set up well. It's not runny but not set up. Next time I would add MUCH less water (probably 1 cup for 1 cup of fruit). And add more pectin, probalby 6 Tbsp. The taste is wonderful though. The vanilla really adds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I'd rate this higher if it were easier. Modified this to be done in less than an hour and added different flavors for different batches. I used 1 lb fruit, (de-seeded, then sliced in the food processor), 12 oz sugar and 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice. Stir then microwave on high 6 min. Stir then microwave 2 min, continue in 2 min bursts an additional 4 times (complete cooking 16 min). Add 2 Tbsp brandy, 2 Tbsp bourbon, or 2 tsp gaaram masala. Pour into pint jars. Super easy and pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I am not familiar with how to make marmalade and this recipe is a very poor description for a first timer. I read some of the other reviews and reduced the water by two cups and STILL was left with a watery mess at the end. Mine did not gel at all. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Total failure. I substituted a small grapefruit for one of the oranges and increased the lemon juice a bit. This would have made for a slightly less sweet marmalade, if only it had jelled at all. It didn't. I ended up with dozens of jars of liquid "citrusized" sugar. I cut the water a bit based on several of the reviews I read; however, I kept the sugar ratio as called for in the recipe. I soaked, boiled, etc., then brought the whole thing to 220 degrees as directed. No jelling. I should have used pectin. Maybe someone has a suggestion for what this syrup could be used for. It's definitely not marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
After reading all the reviews I realized that most people who tried this recipe suggested less sugar and water. I followed the advise, but also added very finely sliced strips of fresh ginger, which adds a zing to the marmalade. Great hit ! Try it with your holiday meats along with mustard too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe needs clarification! The directions are too vague and confusing and now I have 6 pints of kumquat syrup because of way too much water. It is very tasty syrup but unusuable for marmalade! Clarify the directions to show that the soaking liquid is NOT the amount of liquid used for cooking the fruit mixture. I would recommend a complete revision of the directions so that they are less confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
too much water at the begining. not clear whether we should drain the fruit or not after boiling it. then not one clue about the approximate time needed to finish it. very vague.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States