Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This recipie was awesome! I had never made Kulfi before this and was a bit nervous. I made it for a get together where several of my friends recall their mothers making it for them at home and said it tasted just as good. But, I found it incredibly easy to make and absolutely delicious. I used cardamom and rose water for extra flavor and even used cinnamon with the cardamom on one batch. I blended them all together instead of sprinkling the cardamom and cinnamon on top aftwewards. Because I was having a Post-Valentine's dessert party, I added a few drops of red food coloring to one batch. I highly recommend this recipie to anyone who loves ice cream yet desires something different and more healthy! TO cut down on fat and not sacrifice taste, you can also use fat free sweetened condensed milk and low fat evaporated milk with fat free or low fat Cool Whip. It tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNCANDACE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Very good, but much better with a few changes. I thought the original recipe came out too sweet, and the cool-whip gave it a strange, gummy texture. The second time I made it, I scalded (almost boiled) the evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk, and 1 1/2 cups whipping cream with 1 teaspoon cardamom seeds (instead of ground cardamom). Then I blended 3/4 cups regular milk with the bread. I strained the scaled milks into the bread mixture to remove the cardamom seeds, and it in the fridge to cool off. Then I put it in the ice cream maker... it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Great recipe, almost like my mom's. We use one can each of the ev. and condensed milk, 8oz of cool whip and 2 pieces of bread. Also I've added pistachios and almonds minced to the recipe. Another great idea is adding food coloring, you can stage freeze different colors for a rainbow kulfi effect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
This is the best ice cream I've ever tasted and I love Haagen Daz and Ben and Jerry's!! I didn't have cardamom and it was too expensive, so I just sprinkled cinnamon and it was great! My inlaws never had Indian food and were skeptical at first, but they went home with the recipe. I highly recommend Kulfi. It's as rich and creamy as any premium ice cream and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This recipe was very good. I plan to make it again. I stirred the powdered cardamom into the kulfi mixture itself, and then sprinkled coarsely ground pistachios on top of the kulfi when it was half-frozen (I was afraid that the pistachios might sink in if I did that earlier). I made 10 kulfis, not 24, but the servings were about the right size, I think. I poured equal quantities in disposable plastic cups to get the "kulfi" shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I tweaked it up a little bit by doing the following: I first took whole cardamom pods (skins removed), 1/4 cup pistachios, and ground them up in a coffee grinder until powdery. Then I added it to the blender with the remaining ingredients, plus 1/2 teaspoon of rose water. Also, I used Light whipped topping. It tasted great! Everyone loved it, and I have already made it twice in the past few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This was very good, but it almost overflowed my blender. I think next time I'll scale it down a bit. Also, I think it would taste better with the cardamom blended in with the ingredients instead of sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Excellent! I've never made Kulfi before, but in the past two weeks since I've discovered this recipe, I've made it twice already. I did as suggested and substituted fat free evaporated milk and Cool Whip Lite. I also blended the bread and Cool Whip first to avoid overflowing the blender too much, then added the milks. I also had some trouble sprinkling the cardamom without clumping it, but managed it by finger sprinkling it. I sprinkled the cardamom on before freezing it. Swirling the cardamom into the top layer seemed to give it a bit more flavor. A fantastic recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I have a friend from India she always makes the best dinners ever. She likes to kid me how Canadian I am but when I offered to bring dessert for our next dinner and brought KULFI (stored it in the frozen cylinder of my ice-cream maker and put that in a cooler) She was very surprized how well I had done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Simply Excellent. I added some rose water and lotsof nuts(almond). It was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States