Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
This is the best ice cream I've ever tasted and I love Haagen Daz and Ben and Jerry's!! I didn't have cardamom and it was too expensive, so I just sprinkled cinnamon and it was great! My inlaws never had Indian food and were skeptical at first, but they went home with the recipe. I highly recommend Kulfi. It's as rich and creamy as any premium ice cream and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This recipie was awesome! I had never made Kulfi before this and was a bit nervous. I made it for a get together where several of my friends recall their mothers making it for them at home and said it tasted just as good. But, I found it incredibly easy to make and absolutely delicious. I used cardamom and rose water for extra flavor and even used cinnamon with the cardamom on one batch. I blended them all together instead of sprinkling the cardamom and cinnamon on top aftwewards. Because I was having a Post-Valentine's dessert party, I added a few drops of red food coloring to one batch. I highly recommend this recipie to anyone who loves ice cream yet desires something different and more healthy! TO cut down on fat and not sacrifice taste, you can also use fat free sweetened condensed milk and low fat evaporated milk with fat free or low fat Cool Whip. It tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNCANDACE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Excellent, and simple. My daughter and her class were studying India, so we made it and she took it to school to share. The children (and teacher) really enjoyed it, they even sent a thank you note home. I gave the teacher a copy for future use. I tasted it too, it was like vanilla, but the Cardamom is in place of the vanilla beans. My daughter brought the spice to class too. Very "Kid friendly."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This recipe was very good. I plan to make it again. I stirred the powdered cardamom into the kulfi mixture itself, and then sprinkled coarsely ground pistachios on top of the kulfi when it was half-frozen (I was afraid that the pistachios might sink in if I did that earlier). I made 10 kulfis, not 24, but the servings were about the right size, I think. I poured equal quantities in disposable plastic cups to get the "kulfi" shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This is the best Kulfi I have had in years! My kids (who are very vocal critics of my wife’s culinary skills) think the world of this recipe. I have improvised on the basic process by adding crushed pistachio to the mixture. Roshan of Delhi would be proud of the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Yummy and easy! I had to use my kitchen aid mixer because it wouldn't all fit in my blender. Also, it made a lot! I filled 2 ice cube trays and 2 8-oz. Cool Whip containers! Even my picky-picky husband likes this! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMASSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Simply Excellent. I added some rose water and lotsof nuts(almond). It was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I have a friend from India she always makes the best dinners ever. She likes to kid me how Canadian I am but when I offered to bring dessert for our next dinner and brought KULFI (stored it in the frozen cylinder of my ice-cream maker and put that in a cooler) She was very surprized how well I had done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Outstanding! I made this for an Indian get-together and everyone was asking for the recipe. I blended in rosewater and almonds and ran it through an ice cream maker for added creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This was very good, but it almost overflowed my blender. I think next time I'll scale it down a bit. Also, I think it would taste better with the cardamom blended in with the ingredients instead of sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States