Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I loved the taste of this! I didn't have white bread so I used wheat and still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Ohhhhh my this is some good stuff! I suggest you store in a plastic container with a snap-on lid as to keep the freezer taste/smell off your kulfi. Of course, if you're like us, you'll eat it up before that can happen anyway - but it makes a lot, so you might think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is one of the best recipes ever!!!!It turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
completely easy to make, super sweet, a spoonful makes a perfect sweet tooth satisfier. a bit messy to remove from ice-cube trays, but stores well. didn't have cardamom, used cinnamon on one tray and nutmeg on the other, plus used wheat bread which gave it a nuttier flavor. excellent and easy - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My husband could not stop raving about this one. It's very similar to how my mother used to make it, but I can't remember if she added cool whip. I took other reviewers' advice and added an 8 oz. container instead of 16 oz; one can of evaporated milk, one can of condensed milk and two slices of bread instead of four. I didn't have pistachio so after I was done blending the ingredients I stirred in some slivered almonds, which tasted great as well. Thanks for an easy and wonderful recipe that reminds me of childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Out if cardamon, used 1/2 cinamon and allspice. Goes great with gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I have never had Kulfi, or even heard of it for that matter, but when I read the recipe it sounded so refreshing I had to try it. I read some of the comments and it did fill the entire blender so I needed to slowly add the whip topping in batches while pulsing, but a couple of extra minutes and some patience was greatly rewarded. This recipe is extremely easy to follow and produces the creamiest and smoothest ice cream I have ever had. I did need to substitute cinnamon for cardamon but I don't think it lost anything. Thanks for the great recipe we now have a new summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I like trying new recipes, so I gave this one a shot. It was easy to make, but had to hand stir in the most of the whipped topping because it was too much for my blender ( holds 7 cups). I have never used cardamon and was shocked at the price, luckily the store sells it in bulk so I could buy only the amount needed. As for the taste, it was very light, but I had a hard time getting past the grainy texture, I assume is from the bread. Not sure if I will be making this again, but if I do I will make a few changes and play with it a bit. Maybe cocoa or espresso powder in place of the cardamon and omit the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Just okay. I found that the bread gave it a weird texture. To me it tasted like bread dipped in sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
We were having a Indian themed dinner at our house so I decided to make this for dessert. It worked really well to use one can of evaporated milk, 1 can of sweetened condensed milk and 1 (8 oz) container cool whip. I also added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon along with the cardamom. Everyone loved it! It tasted like chai tea in ice cream form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States