Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My husband could not stop raving about this one. It's very similar to how my mother used to make it, but I can't remember if she added cool whip. I took other reviewers' advice and added an 8 oz. container instead of 16 oz; one can of evaporated milk, one can of condensed milk and two slices of bread instead of four. I didn't have pistachio so after I was done blending the ingredients I stirred in some slivered almonds, which tasted great as well. Thanks for an easy and wonderful recipe that reminds me of childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Out if cardamon, used 1/2 cinamon and allspice. Goes great with gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I have never had Kulfi, or even heard of it for that matter, but when I read the recipe it sounded so refreshing I had to try it. I read some of the comments and it did fill the entire blender so I needed to slowly add the whip topping in batches while pulsing, but a couple of extra minutes and some patience was greatly rewarded. This recipe is extremely easy to follow and produces the creamiest and smoothest ice cream I have ever had. I did need to substitute cinnamon for cardamon but I don't think it lost anything. Thanks for the great recipe we now have a new summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I like trying new recipes, so I gave this one a shot. It was easy to make, but had to hand stir in the most of the whipped topping because it was too much for my blender ( holds 7 cups). I have never used cardamon and was shocked at the price, luckily the store sells it in bulk so I could buy only the amount needed. As for the taste, it was very light, but I had a hard time getting past the grainy texture, I assume is from the bread. Not sure if I will be making this again, but if I do I will make a few changes and play with it a bit. Maybe cocoa or espresso powder in place of the cardamon and omit the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Just okay. I found that the bread gave it a weird texture. To me it tasted like bread dipped in sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
We were having a Indian themed dinner at our house so I decided to make this for dessert. It worked really well to use one can of evaporated milk, 1 can of sweetened condensed milk and 1 (8 oz) container cool whip. I also added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon along with the cardamom. Everyone loved it! It tasted like chai tea in ice cream form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Fast and easy, though I have a feeling this isn't how they make it in India...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
WOW- this was sooo good! Seriously I was so surprised how much it tasted like REAL kulfi. Yuum, I would gave never thought it was so easy to make! Will be making this for everyone I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Tastes like authentic kulfi. My Indian bf was in awe that it tasted like authentic kulfi and wanted me to make it for his mom when they next visit from India. I wanted to try different flavors, so I divided the given recipe (including the cardamom) into different sections and tried the following flavors: cinnamon, rose (via rose water, which was the best flavor), pineapple (pineapple juice), and extra cardamon. They were all wonderful. I also used wheat bread as I didn't have white bread on hand, and it didn't make any difference. I also used 1/2 light whipped topping and 1/2 normal. My favorite flavors were the cinnamon and rose, although they were all delicious. I put each in portion sized little tupperwares with lids, making for an easy, anytime snack-sized dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great. Especially for kids, and easy to mak.e
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States