Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Almost perfect--All that needs adjusting is the amount of bread to add into the mixture and amount cool whip. 4 slices of bread is too much, imo. Next time I will just add 2 slices. I only used 8 ounces of cool whip and that was just right. Any more, and it would've been too sweet and the texture would have been off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I had never made kulfi before, nor even eaten kulfi before, so I really don't know if it is authentic or not, but it doesn't matter because it was delicious. I made this as a dessert since I made chicken tikka masala and naan for a family dinner and wanted to stick with the theme. It was so easy to make, and the cardamom gave it an interesting flavor. Even my 2 year old niece loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Gillihan
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Did the same as other reviewers...two pieces of bread and one can of each type of milk. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Gillihan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
So simple, rich and delicious - I did not use any bread since I wanted more of an ice cream texture. Also used 1 pint heavy whipping cream instead of frozen. When the whipping was almost finished, I added the Evap. and Cond. milks and whipped just enough to blend. Then stirred in about a cup of chopped pistachios
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I tried this receipe and my family loved it ,my kids wants me to make this everyday ,very easy to make and veryyyyyy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adeela  Zaidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made this for my dinner group where we choose a theme and all contribute a dish. It has expanded my repertoire immensely, trying new cuisines. It was simple to prepare and everyone loved it, but I have one complaint in the preparation instructions: the ingredients will not all fit in a standard 5-cup blender! I had to do the first few ingredients, then, when I realized, transfer to a large bowl and blend in the Cool Whip with my mixer. I think that the next time I will just cut the recipe in half, as the 9x13 dish fed a large group and there was about 1/4 of it left. I sprinkled the cardamom on top a little at a time through my sifter, shaking and moving it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was really easy & tasty. I only made half the mentioned amount though. I did read everyone's reviews & made necessary adjustments....like grinding cardamon with the milk. I also added pistachios. The only criticism was that it was extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
As others have said, this is an easy way to make ice cream without an ice cream maker. My sister bought me a bunch of cardamom from Sweden and I went looking for recipes and found this one for kulfi. So glad I did! My kids love helping me make it. I read the reviews and ended up making it with 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, an 8 ounce package of cool whip, a can of evaporated milk and 2 slices of white bread. The kids couldn't wait to eat it, so I added a bunch of ice cubes and made it into a shake. It was super sweet, but very tasty. This second time I've made it with 8 ounces of half and half in place of the cool whip and I added about 3 tablespoons of sugar. I think this batch will be just right. I put it into popsicle molds for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokpochica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I'm not really familiar with "traditional" Kulfi but this works for me; other than the fact that I abhore whipped topping. I whipped my own cream, and that may also solve the problem for people who find it too sweet, as I'm sure whipped topping has plenty of sugar. I also topped with ground pistachio's and almonds. No grainy texture at all as per some reviews. I removed the crusts from the bread and blended thoroughly with about a cup of evap milk before adding the rest of the ingredients. People at the dinner party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent, have shared this recipe with my family and it turns out great. Although, before freezing to avoid crystals on the kulfi, cover tightly with saran wrap and snap on the lid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States