Kugeli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I used bacon in this and cut the recipe back to fit in a 9x13 pan. We felt it needed a little salt, but this was really good. Comfort food like a cross between mashed potato and a hash brown casserole. I'm going to try crying the slices with breakfast tomorrow as per the suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My Mom and Grandma made this all the time. When I tried using the food processor the texture was all wrong. More like mashed potatoes than koogilie. my Mom used to grate the potatoes by hand on a box grater and got little granules of potato instead of smush. Grinding 5 pounds by hand is a chore and little bits of knuckle don't improve the flavor. I found by first using the carrot shredding blade in the processor,,the one that rides at the top of the processor bowl, and then carefully pulsing 1/2 bowl batches with the regular blade I can easily get the right textured bits of potato. Doesn't add much time and just one extra blade to wash , but what a difference in taste. We also omit the flour and use a can of evaporated milk for 5 lbs of potatoes. Mom said the milk prevented the mix from turning grey before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Added my own spices, but this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Thanks BOBCHASE! Just like Mom and I ued to make, only in the old days we didn't have food processors, everything was hand grated. Your recipe is exactly like mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Puleo Pierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Thank you so much. When my grandmother passed, we lost her recipe. I'll never loss your this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fidodcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is a family tradition (yes, Lithuanian!) However we use chopped bacon, diced ham and add evaporated milk also. We don't use the flour. We just chop everything up in the food processor, transfer to a bowl, add eggs & evaporated milk, transfer to a baking dish (coated with Pam for easy clean-up!) and bake at 350 for about an hour. The flavor is AMAZING!!! We also serve with a dollop of sour cream. (Just as a note - you can freeze leftover ham (from holidays) and leftover bacon and thaw them out when you're ready to make the Kugeli! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
great recipe...works well with bacon and a splash of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. Okay I am Lithuanian but still....it's the best. I lost my own family recipe so thank goodness I found this one. In my family we call it, Kugelis. My children love when I make this, I serve it with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
one word........delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Yummy! Tastes like spruced-up hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States