Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Follow up on topping quantity concerns: Though the recipe calls for a 9 x 13 dish, I've always made it in my glass souffle dish. With less top surface area, less topping is required. And when it's cold, it slices into a beautiful wedge shape too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
FABULOUS! I took this to a Jewish celebration and no one could get over how this good Catholic girl could make kugel! A real hit! Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Updated 9-30-2011: Re topping modification below: Didn't have cornflakes so used NOT crushed rice crispies instead. Wonderful and the topping looked interesting!!!!! See my photo. Soaked 3/4 cup golden raisins for 20 min in warm 1/2 triple sec and 1/2 apple juice (liquids mixed and heated on 30 seconds in microwave) THEN made the pudding processed sugar free using 1/4 cup splenda and 1/4 cup Agave Syrup to replace white sugar. No one could tell...I left part without topping for my diabetic mom. Also, next time I will use one stick of butter melted in the noodles, not 6 tablespoons-I don't like tiny leftovers. This is NOT a low fat dish-it is a treat...I'd rather have a small piece of something fabulous than a large piece of blah. 2004 review: This is the best Kugel recipe I've made or tasted! I only changed a few things. I used the whole 8 oz package of cream cheese (I didn't want that extra 1/4 sitting around for me to eat.) I added 1/2 cup of raisins to the noodle mixture after I soaked them in VERY HOT water for about 15 minutes. I changed the topping to: 1.5 cups crushed cornflakes mixed with 1 stick (1/2 cup) of melted butter and 1/2 cup packed brown sugar. I sprinkled that on top and then I mixed 1.5 teaspoons of cinnamon with 1/8 cup of white sugar and sprinkled that on last before baking. It was great the next day too!!! Eat cold or warm, but best warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Great taste, very delicious and No one will figure out what the topping is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Great! I accidentally omitted the 6T of butter and it was still good! I'll add it next time, though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Finally the Kugel recipe I was looking for because I kept losing my mother-in-laws! I too added a bit of cinnamon to it, and used corn flakes with cinnamon and sugar as the topping, for that's how my husband's mother makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Wow, I've never received such rave reviews from Kugel before. Everyone loved it. Even my skinny friend who eats like a bird stuffed herself with it until she was sick. Will miracles never cease? (It is Haunukkah after all!) It was wonderful and creamy and rich, as promised. I followed the recipe to a tee. This is definitely the best kugel ever. Must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
WOW!!! I made this for my mother (who makes kugel frequently) and she was VERY impressed. She even asked for my recipe. Thanks so much....I will definitely be making it again. It was so easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Yet another Catholic girl trying to cook Jewish cuisine. I made this for our annual Hannukah/Christmas party and my Jewish in-laws were very impressed. I didn't change a thing with this recipe and found it very moist and delicious - still really good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLACIA2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States