Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I ALWAYS use this recipe! Even when I don't make the measurements exact or beat the eggs seperately it still turns out GREAT!! I usually use the cornflake topping instead (that is just what my family prefers). When I asked my grandmother for her recipe that I grew up on in childhood, she answered something in yiddish that means "whatever you have on hand", so one kugel could have sour cream in it or not depending what you had in the fridge. SO, to have this great recipe on hand is extremely useful and wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Amazing! This was not only my first attempt at making a kugel, it was the first time EVER I actually liked a kugel! Most kugels are so sweet it's like eating cookie dough. This recipe is just ever so slightly sweet and way creamy and just simply good! It was the dish with the most raves at our Hanukkah party. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've never had kugel before and I thought that this was going to be creamy like mac n cheese but it ended up more like a souffle. Good. Sweet. Just not what I was expecting. I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
A winner every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for Passover and it was a great success with matzo meal in lieu of graham cracker. Note, it is really easy to crumble it evenly on top if you refrigerate it over night. If you need to refrigerate it (actually MUCH better than baking it immediately), I suggest keeping it in the bowl and not adding it to your dish. Cover the bowl because some of the liquid will evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The topping ruined the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
i forgot that i loved kugel until i made it for hannukah. i think i love it even more now! only difference i made: i tripled the topping, it didn't seem to make enough the way it is written. but i love the topping, so maybe i'm just greedy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Absolutely delicious! The best kugel I've ever had. I, too, added the entire block of cream cheese and used a 12 oz bag of noodles (because that's what I had). I imagine it would have been much richer (and therefore better tasting!) if I had used the right amount. The only change I would make is to triple the topping. It was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lruddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I found by placing the eggs, sugar, cream cheese, sour cream and cottage cheese in the blender and blending it all together, then pouring it on the cooked noodles and adding pineapple chunks, and topping with the buttter and crumbs, it came out very creamy and easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Love Love LOVED this recipe! I doubled it and made two and my family ate the entire first dish and we even dug into the second one. Leftovers are awesome and the crust added a nice sweetness to a neutral kugel. I will defiantly be making this one next Rosh Hashanah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States