Kristen's Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Had a bunch of leeks hanging around and wasn't sure what to make with them until I stumbled upon this recipe. The soup was amazing! Used more leeks than called for since I wanted to use them up and added about a TBLS of red wine vinegar after it was done cooking to amp up the cream in the soup. Will definitely be in our winter menu coming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Photo by Spencanoe
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very tasty and popular with my family. I used too much potato so it was thicker than I wanted. Also I did not puree it enough. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warren, Maine, USA
Living In: Campbell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
its the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Nice soup..Included bacon like my Dad used to . Fry up 3 pieces of bacon (cut up into small pieces) - When crispy remove and add 3 leeks - cleaned and thinly sliced into rounds - saute in bacon fat.. (about 2 tbsp.) x 10 minutes Add potatoes cut up into quarters or 1/8ths - followed by 3 cans chicken broth. Simmer x 30 min -then remove and puree 1/2 the soup - the other half a smoosh down a bit but leave pieces for texture. Added 1/2 cup Land o Lakes brand non-fat cream (half and half works too). If too thick (used a bit too many potatoes or they were a big size ) just thin down with a bit of chicken broth or a bit of water - tvf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
It was VERY thick. I must have done something wrong. I had to keep making adjustments to get it thinner. I ended up serving it as a side dish of mashed potatoes and no one knew the difference. I swear, though, that I followed the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is one of my favorite winter time soups! I only used 3 leeks in stead of the 6 the recipe calls for and used a chopped onion in their place. I also added twice the amount of heavy cream to get a really creamy soup and left the skin on the potatoes, which gave the soup a "rustic" feel. There is nothing wrong with the original recipe and these changes aren't necessary to have a delicious finished product but they meet our tastes better so I thought I'd share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time I made it exactly as written and it was excellent. The second time I substituted the butter with olive oil and half and half for the heavy cream and it was just as good with these minor changes. This time I am adding the leftover ham I have in the freezer. Serving it with a loaf of pumpkin bread for a wonderful fall dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I bought some leeks on whim -- always wanted to try a Potato-Leek soup. My only complaint is that I got less than 1/2 a bowl -- the family loved it. I'd seen other recipes that called for cornstarch, but I found that pureeing a portion, as suggested, thickens it quite nicely. There's no need to be exact in the proportions of ingredients ... I preferred a little more butter, and I didn't have 6 leeks on hand - only 4. Will certainly make it again -- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a wonderfully hearty soup that I would've given 5 stars to if it had had a bit more zing. I loved that it used two vegetables that I had in surplus and I'll certainly be making it again but it needs something to spice it up a bit. I'm going to try some garlic and maybe a spice or two. To keep it lighter, I used half & half as suggested by another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was very good! I made a few substitutions. I added half an onion to the leeks since I had some extra. I also used 1 percent milk and added a little roux to thicken, since I didn't have heavy cream and like to use what's on hand. When I added the milk I threw in a cup of cooked, chopped broccoli. I'm in college and don't own a blender or mixer, so I minced the leek and onion really small and used a potato masher. It came out a little chunky but I like it that way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States